Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-13-2019, 12:25 PM   #1

97' Blue Bird Sound System

Hey Skoolies,

New guy here with not a lot of experience but a lot of drive! Our business runs a 97' Blue Bird bus that takes drunken individuals from a concert venue to home.

In order to provide a quality experience we've been entertaining the idea of implementing a sound system that plays music of upcoming shows. We don't want it too loud to hurt the patrons ears or bother the driver, but loud enough for everyone hear.

Seeing as how i have no experience doing this. What areas should i look into? Power? Sound Systems? Etc. What do you all recommend and where do i start?

Recently we looked at installing a home theatre sound system throughout the bus; using 6 speakers and a subwoofer was the route but i'm intrigued to hear other routes!

Thanks again and hope i'm not asking a lot. Glad to be here!

CanyonShuttle

CanyonShuttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 02:58 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1997
Coachwork: International
Chassis: Vista 3600
Engine: DT466E / AT545
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanyonShuttle View Post
Hey Skoolies,

New guy here with not a lot of experience but a lot of drive! Our business runs a 97' Blue Bird bus that takes drunken individuals from a concert venue to home.
What type of bus are you running? If not the specific type, then just the engine location and bus type will do. There are short buses, flat nose (transit), dognose, and a few oddities. Here's an illustration

This isn't too important unless you have a rear engine, thus we can factor out a lot of the engine noise and likely get away with a slightly cheaper sound system.

Quote: