Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-24-2019, 11:04 AM   #1

AGM batteries don't seem to be holding charge

I'm a total newbie and do not understand more than just the basics of how batteries, solar and inverters work. All the info I can find is technical or
too mathematical etc. I am hoping someone can help me understand my issue in simple terms!
We bought a professionally converted skoolie. We have 2 X 12v/200ah/10h AGM batteries, 4x 100w solar panels wired to a rover mppt controller, a renogy pure sine wave inverter and a remote for the invertor.
We picked up our bus in July and drove around for about 5 weeks rarely plugging in (30amp) as we prefer boondocking. We don't use much power - just to charge laptops and phones. Then we hit forests and our battery ran down and the invertor alarm sounded We plugged in but the renogy settings were wrong and it wouldn't accept the 30v. Eventually we got it sorted but it went down to 8.5v on the renogy remote display. I didn't check what it said on the MPPT.
We charged up and all seemed fine. The RV repairer told us that it would have done no damage to the batteries. We noticed that it started dropping in volts much more quickly though and we feel as if our batteries are not holding power. They go up to 14.8 when being charged with a cable and are at 13.3v after float They drop down to 12.8v quickly after we unplug. After a day in the sun and 90 mins driving they were down to 12.6. By morning 12.3. The MPPT says that is 60%. The only draw is the invertor itself and the compost toilet fan overnight. Is this normal?
We wanted a system that allowed us to to off grid for as long as possible but this only now lets us stay away from power for about three days. Help

Rutherama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 12:27 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)