Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2019, 09:40 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie
 
Poggalicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Washington
Posts: 13
Year: 1999
Chassis: International Amtran
Engine: Navistar 7.3L
Backup camera wiring help

Evening everyone.
New to the forum here, though Iíve been lurking for awhile.
My wife and I own a 1999 International, with the 7.3L. I am currently ďattemptingĒ to hook up a backup camera but keep popping the inline 3amp fuse attached to the multiplexer. Iíve made sure my ground is on its own as to not draw extra amperage from other sources. My power source is plugged into its own post with a 25A fuse as well and on its own switch so I can turn it off and on whenever I need to.

Iím hoping someone has a bit of advice as to what Iím doing wrong or not doing. Thanks for all the help!
Poggalicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 10:32 PM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
david.dgeorge07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,343
Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: CAT 3126
I assume the 3 amp fuse is what the spec is?

Are you sure there is no short?

Does it run for a while and then go, or go instantly?

If it pops right away, you probably have a short or have something wired wrong.

If it takes a while, sounds like an under sized fuse.
__________________
My Build Thread:

http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f11/4-...ner-18205.html
david.dgeorge07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 10:33 PM   #3
Bus Crazy
 
roach711's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Farmington Hills, Mi (Detroit area)
Posts: 1,819
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Eldorado Aerotech 24'
Chassis: Ford E-450 Cutaway Bus
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 19
Is the fuse the correct amperage? The fuse shouldn't blow unless the unit is drawing too much current or the fuse is too small for the load. If the fuse is correct that would suggest a defective unit.

Maybe connect the unit directly to the battery posts to eliminate any wiring gremlins.

If all else fails go back and read the directions again. I've buggered a few installs that I "knew" how to do and had to (shame!) actually read the instructions to get it right.
__________________
The Roach Motel
roach711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 10:39 PM   #4
Mini-Skoolie
 
Poggalicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Washington
Posts: 13
Year: 1999
Chassis: International Amtran
Engine: Navistar 7.3L
Thanks for the replies.
Yes the 3A dude is standard for the inline. Iíve tried a few different methods to get this thing working. Straight to the small post on the 3 post solenoid. Straight to the ďblueĒ wire ignition post on the rail. No luck. It pops every time. Just an FYI, this is a 2 battery 24v bus, but Iím assuming that accessories are 12v?
Poggalicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 11:19 PM   #5
Bus Crazy
 
roach711's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Farmington Hills, Mi (Detroit area)
Posts: 1,819
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Eldorado Aerotech 24'
Chassis: Ford E-450 Cutaway Bus
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 19
We all know what "assume" does to "U" and "me" right? My Garmin backup camera is rated for up to 28 volts so check the specs on your camera and verify the actual line voltage on the wire you connect to while the engine is running. A 12 volt nominal system will see just under 15 volts with the engine running but I have no idea how high a 24 volt system gets.
__________________
The Roach Motel
roach711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 04:19 PM   #6
Mini-Skoolie
 
Poggalicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Washington
Posts: 13
Year: 1999
Chassis: International Amtran
Engine: Navistar 7.3L
Quote:
Originally Posted by roach711 View Post
We all know what "assume" does to "U" and "me" right? My Garmin backup camera is rated for up to 28 volts so check the specs on your camera and verify the actual line voltage on the wire you connect to while the engine is running. A 12 volt nominal system will see just under 15 volts with the engine running but I have no idea how high a 24 volt system gets.
I checked the specs on the DC power and itís rated for 12-24V. So now Iím REALLY confused.
Poggalicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.