Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2019, 06:25 PM   #1
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 6,783
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Battery Cable for Inverter

Is 2/0 sufficient to run 10' from the inverter to the battery box?
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 08:56 PM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
david.dgeorge07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,361
Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: CAT 3126
Quote:
Originally Posted by o1marc View Post
Is 2/0 sufficient to run 10' from the inverter to the battery box?


Whatís the load/inverter? Usually 2/0 welding cable is a pretty safe choice, but itís worth running the numbers on before you commit.

The closer the better though, no matter the cable size. At 12V the loss for big loads adds up fast.
__________________
My Build Thread:

http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f11/4-...ner-18205.html
david.dgeorge07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 09:23 PM   #3
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 770
Yah, a 300W inverter charging a laptop is very different from a 3kW one fully loaded using an electric galley and doing laundry aboard.

Download Circuit Wizard from BSS website, make sure to use the circuit's round-trip distance, both wires, use a 1% voltage drop and round up.
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 09:50 PM   #4
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 6,783
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by david.dgeorge07 View Post
Whatís the load/inverter? Usually 2/0 welding cable is a pretty safe choice, but itís worth running the numbers on before you commit.

The closer the better though, no matter the cable size. At 12V the loss for big loads adds up fast.
The house inverter will be within 2', the battery bank will also supply the garage inverter (3500/7000). It will power 2 receptacles and the overhead light, occasional tools.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 09:50 PM   #5
Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Windham NH
Posts: 156
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International RE
Engine: International T444e
Rated Cap: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by o1marc View Post
Is 2/0 sufficient to run 10' from the inverter to the battery box?

I think its better to run from each of your batteries to a positive bus bar co-located with the inverter. Then add a DC breaker to each run for the maximum amperage you want to see per run. Even if you use 2 or 4 AWG it shouldn't matter. If your breakers trip, you should either upgrade your wires and breakers, or add more batteries with more runs. And you should always get breakers sized to trip well before your cables get hot.



Bus bars are indispensable.
kazetsukai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 09:54 PM   #6
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 6,783
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Definitely planned on having a shut off for the garage when not being used. I'll mark that on my electric board.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 10:01 PM   #7
Bus Crazy
 
david.dgeorge07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,361
Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: CAT 3126
Quote:
Originally Posted by o1marc View Post
The house inverter will be within 2', the battery bank will also supply the garage inverter (3500/7000). It will power 2 receptacles and the overhead light, occasional tools.


Pretty big numbers. Probably worth doing the math on it. Looking at 300/600 amps.
__________________
My Build Thread:

http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f11/4-...ner-18205.html
david.dgeorge07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 11:15 PM   #8
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 770
The number of receptacles, even the size of the inverters are not in themselves all that relevant.

For any given circuit, what is the maximum amps current rate that will be drawn at any one time by the various possible combinations of load devices running concurrently?

And which of those devices are sensitive to voltage drop, what % V drop are you willing to accept on that circuit?

The above might mean #6 AWG is OK for safety, but over a long enough distance, holding to a target V drop of only 1% may require a #2 wire.
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 11:24 PM   #9
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 6,783
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
My question was based on the fact I couldn't find the 10' of 4/0 wire I bought, searched for an hour couldn't find it. Then thought for a moment and realized I had used it to put a longer cord on my PC oven to move it over. So no 4/0. but I have 50' each of black and red 2/0.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2019, 08:20 AM   #10
Site Team
 
JDOnTheGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: The West
Posts: 959
Year: 1998
Coachwork: MCI
Chassis: 102 EL3
Engine: DD 60
Might check out McMaster Carr welding cable.
__________________
JD - Full timer out west
Missy - 1998 MCI 102-EL3 - 1.7kW Solar - 10kWh Lithium
My Adventures & Build
JDOnTheGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.