Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-04-2016, 09:34 AM   #1
Skoolie

DC-DC Chargers. Recommend a good one?

It's time to start building the electrics on my bus.

I'd like to be able to put some charge into the house batteries from the bus's alternator as I motor along. One of the few things I don't have on hand is a DC-DC charger.

What charger works for you? Could you recommend a good one?

Thanks

Tedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2016, 10:11 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison AT1545
Rated Cap: 2
im no electric expert but i'll give you my 2 cents.

to charge house batteries from your alternator, you should just need to run a hot wire from the truck battery to the house battery. on that wire, you'd install a battery isolator, to separate the 2 systems when your key is off. some isolators are electronic, some use a solenoid to seperate the systems.

i've heard, but don't know about possible issues with the size of your altenator. too small an alternator could burn up trying to charge too many batteries.

in my mind, when someone says a dc-dc charger, i think of one that changes voltage, like one that converts 12v to 24v
Old 09-04-2016, 10:34 AM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Yeah, turf is right. You should really only need a battery isolator and a beefy length of welding wire connecting your house and chassis batteries if you're doing 12V house batteries. If you're doing 24v or 48v house batteries (which is an excellent, albeit complicated, idea) you then need a DC-DC converter. Those are pricier and harder to find. Sterling-power makes some of the best. Try them. Sterling Power Products
ashandrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2016, 11:17 AM   #4
Skoolie