Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2015, 10:01 PM   #1
Bus Nut
 
Zephod_beeblebrox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lexington sc
Posts: 482
Year: 1994
Coachwork: carpenter
Chassis: international
Engine: 466dt
Rated Cap: 59
Electrics

I have no power sockets on my schoolie. I need to install...
USB charger sockets for cellphones and GPS.
A backup camera
Cb radio
Additional power sockets for unforeseen expansions.

How do I do all this?
Zephod_beeblebrox2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 11:50 PM   #2
Bus Nut
 
charles_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Denver
Posts: 489
Year: 1982
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: International S1800
Engine: DT466 Trans: MT643
Rated Cap: 65
They sell cigarette lighter socket kits in a lot of automotive and hardware stores.
If it were me, I'd buy a fused tap and wire it right off either the battery or off a thicker gauge wire that has constant 12v near your dash or wherever you want it located.
__________________
Patina enthusiast and professional busman
www.bustoshow.org
Blog: www.lookatthatbus.com
Instragram: @lookatthatbus
charles_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 07:16 PM   #3
Bus Nut
 
Zephod_beeblebrox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lexington sc
Posts: 482
Year: 1994
Coachwork: carpenter
Chassis: international
Engine: 466dt
Rated Cap: 59
Thanks. I'm a bit shy about screwing up electrics. The hill billies that had the bus before me had wired some things in and none of their wiring appears to work. I've got to trace all that back and remove it.
Zephod_beeblebrox2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 07:50 AM   #4
Bus Nut
 
bapos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cleburne TX
Posts: 606
Regaurdless where you tap the power from make sure that power run is fused.
__________________
Here is my school bus conversion thread http://www.skoolie.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10282

Pics of my conversion @ photobucket http://s18.photobucket.com/albums/b1.../School%20Bus/
bapos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 10:09 AM   #5
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by bapos View Post
Regaurdless where you tap the power from make sure that power run is fused.
Always fuse as close to the power source as possible.
dond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 11:57 AM   #6
Bus Nut
 
Zephod_beeblebrox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lexington sc
Posts: 482
Year: 1994
Coachwork: carpenter
Chassis: international
Engine: 466dt
Rated Cap: 59
I'm going to have to see what the hillbillies did with all those extra wires. I'm sure they were as bad as the rest of their 110v system. I ripped that out pronto. They'd used 10a fuses, 1a wire and run 20 sockets off it all.
Zephod_beeblebrox2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.