Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-19-2018, 12:02 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Aerotech
Chassis: E-450
Good news and lift battery question

Well, after all the horror stories I've read regarding re-titling and registration, i was in and out of the DMV in 10 minutes this morning. Could not believe it! No questions asked, no proof of conversion, nothing. New title should be in hand in 6 weeks, but it is licensed and registered as a motor home in Arkansas.

Here's my question: I pulled the lift off this week and realized it has a separate battery bank being fed from starting battery/alternator(?). In order to leave this in place to power some 12 v things- do I need an isolator on that or should there be one already? I'm very new to 12v/conversion electricity, so this is probably ignorant. If I have another proper battery bank, can both banks be charged by the engine while driving. I assume that's 2 isolators needed, but im having a hard time thinking how the energy flow would map out. Thanks!

Foxpen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2018, 02:45 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Eldorado Aerotech 24'
Chassis: Ford E-450 Cutaway Bus
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 19
On my Aerotech (longer version of your Aerolite) the starting batteries ran the lift with no isolater. In normal use the engine would be running when using the lift.

Does yours have the battery tray by the entrance doors and also a battery under the hood? Mine just had two batteries in the tray and nothing under the hood.

The isolater allows the alternator to charge both banks but does not allow the starting bank to be drained along with the house bank.