Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-23-2019, 04:05 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2004
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: T444E 7.3L
Rated Cap: 72
Help! How many batteries do I need?

Okay, I need a crash course in batteries/solar.

Basically, I have no idea how many batteries or how much solar I'll need. I've never worked with electrical before.

The things I'm going to have in my bus requiring power are as followed:

1. Dual Zone Mini Split AC/Heater
18000 BTU's total. Roughly 8 hours/day without shore power.
Will run all night with shore power if it's hot enough out.
(I honestly have no idea what it will take to power this system. Any
advice would be much appreciated).

2. Hamilton Beach 0.7 CU FT Microwave.
Walmart lists wattage as 700W.
Would I leave this plugged in 24/7 or only plug it in while using?
5-10 minute usage (not daily but for calculating's sake, we'll say
daily).

3. Stove that will run off propane.
I'm not sure whether this needs any power. I haven't researched it
yet).

4. 9.9 CU FT Magic Chef Fridge
Will run 24/7.
Energy Consumption listed as 329 kWh/year.
329/365 = 0.901. 900W/day? I'm not sure how to calculate it.

5. Water Pump and Heater
I have no idea for this as I haven't planned my water system yet.
Any suggestions?

6. Laptop Charger
90W, roughly 2 hours/day.

7. Backup camera and GPS System.
Two things I'm not sure how they work yet, if you have either,
please let me know your average usage.

8. iPad and iPhone charging.
Roughly 1-2 hour increments, once or twice daily.
5 Watts for iPhone, 10 Watts for iPad.

9. LED Puck Lights.
Maybe 20 Max, depending on the size and placement.

10. 32" Westinghouse Smart TV. (1-3 hours/day)
I don't know the watts on this.

11. Carbon Monoxide Detector. (24/7)