Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2019, 05:29 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 11
Year: 1986
Coachwork: International
Engine: Navistar DT-466
Rated Cap: 56
Question I Cut the Wrong Wire

Hey all!
I have been in the process of ripping out the old useless wiring and managed to cut the wrong wire... and now my engine won't start. The wire goes directly to the engine bay, goes to a little converter box (at least, that is what I think my brother called it), back into the body, and directly to a labeled fuse box. I am FAIRLY sure that the wire I cut is the starter wire, but it may also belong to the ignition system. Does anybody have any tips on identifying just what I cut other than tracing it back? Also, does anybody have any tips on figuring out exactly where this mystery wire should connect to?
Thanks, all!
kevinthebluebird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 09:09 PM   #2
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 8
Does the engine crank? Or does crank and not start?
There are different safety items put in to the starter feed, for example neutral safety switch, clutch switch, vandal lock.
Can you take a picture of the device that you were referring to. It will with the identification
schoolbuscraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 02:54 AM   #3
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 11
Year: 1986
Coachwork: International
Engine: Navistar DT-466
Rated Cap: 56
It doesn't crank at all - which is why I think it is the starter. I can take some photos tomorrow when I go back out! Thanks.
kevinthebluebird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 10:45 AM   #4
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 3,530
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
A very common cause for "no crank after removing extra wires" is the safety interlock system. It is intended to disable the starter if any of the emergency exits are open.

Incorrect removal of interlock wiring has been the source of MANY calls for help here.
PNW_Steve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 10:52 AM   #5
Bus Geek
 
EastCoastCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Eustis FLORIDA
Posts: 16,202
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
I was thinking that too. But IDK if a bus that old would have an interlock.
__________________
.
Roll Your Own Build Thread
EastCoastCB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 11:21 AM   #6
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 11
Year: 1986
Coachwork: International
Engine: Navistar DT-466
Rated Cap: 56
I'm fairly certain it does not have an interlock system, but I'll close the back door and see if that makes a difference today! It's worth a shot, right?
kevinthebluebird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 11:43 AM   #7
Bus Geek
 
EastCoastCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Eustis FLORIDA
Posts: 16,202
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Check any exits or hatches too.
Put some pics up if you can.
__________________
.
Roll Your Own Build Thread
EastCoastCB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 12:58 PM   #8
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 3,530
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
I am wondering, if it has interlocks, if maybe you cut one of the associated wires?
PNW_Steve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 08:57 PM   #9
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 11
Year: 1986
Coachwork: International
Engine: Navistar DT-466
Rated Cap: 56
Exclamation

Okay there are a bunch of photos here. When I got to the bus, I found even more wires that have no homes.

The first photo is of the wire that I accidentally cut. It is the purple wire that runs up and through the body of the bus into the engine bay. If you trace the wires in the engine bay, they run to the little box shown in the second and third photos. If you continue tracing the wires that come from this box, they lead back into the body of the bus to the little labeled thing shown in the fourth photo. This is as far as I can trace this issue back.

The fifth photo is of the actual face of the switchboard. There is a button on it labeled MAN... I am fairly sure that this is supposed to read MANUAL. There is a little connector wire inside of there that isn't attached, but I am not sure what the button is supposed to do in the first place. I could trace this back and attach it to where it belongs super easily, but I am not sure if I am wasting my time.

The last issue is even more annoying: the sixth photo is an overhead of yet another system that isn't completed. The little box on the bottom has a red wire shown in the seventh photo that is loose. The little cylinder on the top has a white 12 gauge wire that is also loose and hot when the batteries are on. You can also see the wire that runs from the cylinder and connects to another port in the switchboard. I won't even try to describe where you can see this because there are so many wires. If you trace the wire that connects to the port (I'm fairly certain this isn't the correct term - forgive my lack of knowledge), it leads back to the thing pictured in the eighth photo. This looks like a ground to me, but again, I am super inexperienced with wiring. And this is as far as I can trace this issue.

I am fairly sure I am just going to buy a custom switchboard at this point, but any ideas to see if I can get this thing working? I don't even know where to begin.
kevinthebluebird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 09:35 PM   #10
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Picton,Ont, Can.
Posts: 1,425
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: Cat 3116
Rated Cap: 72
Two things right off for you. Loose wires, corroded connections. Tighten the loose ones up. Cleaning is going to have to be done. Why is stuff loose?

Also, your description confuses me.



You are tracing wires but not from the source to wherever.



You are tracing the circuit backwards which complicates the thinking for me.


The wire in pic 1 .. Can't you reconnect it to where ever you cut it from?

That would help get back to square one.




Pic 4 is the panel that has to be satisfied for your start up, that's where the start relay seems to be powered from. I believe what you refer to as the pink wire is what that panel shows as violet in colour, start relay.

So many other things too.


Front engine bus? Fill profile out, we know zilch about the bus.



Start with the simple things I gave you and then retry. You might get lucky but this could take a while and a lot of money to trouble shoot for a pro. Know your bus well.



John
__________________
Question everything!
BlackJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, ignition, starter, wires, wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.