Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2016, 06:31 PM   #11
Bus Crazy
 
roach711's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Farmington Hills, Mi (Detroit area)
Posts: 1,572
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Eldorado Aerotech 24'
Chassis: Ford E-450 Cutaway Bus
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 19
If you take an AC cable (hot/neutral/ground) and touch the hot wire to either the neutral or ground wire you get a dead short which will trip the breaker at the breaker box. That's because the ground and neutral are both connected (bonded) at the main panel.

Now, take that same cable and put it in a steel bus shell with an ungrounded breaker box (no connection to the bus skin). If you touch the hot wire to the bus body there's no connection back to the main panel so the breaker doesn't trip. What does happen is that the bus skin becomes energized and when someone comes along and touches it while grounded they become part of that circuit and since the panel's ground and the person's ground isn't very well connected the breaker doesn't trip and the person gets a nasty shock or maybe electrocuted.

A DC ground is really a return circuit, more like the neutral wire in an AC circuit. An AC ground normally carries no current until there is a fault in the wiring.
__________________
The Roach Motel
roach711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 06:37 PM   #12
Site Team
 
crazycal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin97396 View Post
Apparently your wife doesn't read these threads?

I said EX!
__________________
I'm hungry!

You Gotta Let Me Fly
crazycal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 06:40 PM   #13
Skoolie
 
jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: onboard the R1!
Posts: 206
Year: 2004
Coachwork: International
Chassis: RE200
Engine: 7.3L Navistar T444E
Rated Cap: 72
ok, so im pickin up what you guys are layin down.
goin with the job box + Supa cords (all cords are up high and totally trimmed over) + leave no room for them gettin a Fonz on by wrapping all cords and secure them proper in order to keep all the hot skin under the sunny sun!
__________________
check out my build pics
http://www.skoolie.net/forums/member...albums833.html
or my random writings... at
www.roadrunnerlogik.blogspot.com
jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 11:36 PM   #14
Bus Crazy
 
roach711's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Farmington Hills, Mi (Detroit area)
Posts: 1,572
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Eldorado Aerotech 24'
Chassis: Ford E-450 Cutaway Bus
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 19
Going with a "normal" RV AC electrical system (a branch breaker box grounded to the bus skin and feeding several outlets) will give you safe AC power at about 1/3 the cost of that job box setup.
__________________
The Roach Motel
roach711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 07:07 AM   #15
Skoolie
 
jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: onboard the R1!
Posts: 206
Year: 2004
Coachwork: International
Chassis: RE200
Engine: 7.3L Navistar T444E
Rated Cap: 72
also i was trying to picture the vibration involved with full time road tripping and figure the job box route offered less room for stuff to come loose and cause problems. and i can place the box in the basement of bus as opposed to inside. and the time it will take me to run 12-2 all over and place boxes / wire them is worth money as well so i have to look at big pic as far as easiest quickest way. ill post more pics soon, just got granite counter top laid for where sink is, and master bedroom all closed in! want to hit the open road by july 30th!
__________________
check out my build pics
http://www.skoolie.net/forums/member...albums833.html
or my random writings... at
www.roadrunnerlogik.blogspot.com
jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 03:10 PM   #16
Bus Nut
 
Hank's P-O-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: MB
Posts: 275
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Tomas
Chassis: International
Engine: T444e
Rated Cap: 54
You would be much better off using a regular household breaker box. Not only would you save $350, but you would avoid using plugs as a permenant connections.
Plugs, unless massively oversized are usually the weak link.
I could give you many examples of times when I have melted the plugs off of cords.
One thing that I would consider a rule to live by is that everything metal is grounded always.
__________________
"...Baler twine tie downs goin' down the road
On two bald tires and an oversize load..."
Hank's P-O-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 03:14 PM   #17
Bus Nut
 
Docsgsxr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Arizona via Baton Rouge
Posts: 640
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freight-shaker (Freightliner)
Engine: Cat 3126b 250 HP
Rated Cap: Only 1 seat
I checked with 2 of the electrical engineers here at the power plant I'm working, they both agreed with much enthusiasm that you ground the bus to the AC system as well through the breaker box.
__________________
My build thread - viewtopic.php?f=9&t=467197
Docsgsxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 06:08 PM   #18
Bus Nut
 
Jolly Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: North carolina
Posts: 651
Year: 1986
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Ford
Engine: Detroit 8.2
Rated Cap: 60 bodies
I am interested in the ac grounding thing but while we're on electrical.
Does anyone have an opinion about a Xantrex sw3000w inverter?
I have a chance to get 2 for less than the price of 1? I want 1 and could/would sell the other to a skoolie for my cost if they are any good?
I can do a lot of things including bending conduit and pulling wire but when terminating the ends I need help unless It was my design? ( I know/learn what goes where before it happens).
My bus is wired safely by what I know but no converter/inverter except a self regulating battery charger to run my 12v off of generator/shore power right now.
I have a chance to get what looks like a real good inverter and would like to know if it is worth the effort of installing?
Jolly Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 07:29 PM   #19
Bus Nut
 
Hank's P-O-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: MB
Posts: 275
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Tomas
Chassis: International
Engine: T444e
Rated Cap: 54
IIRC, the name Xantrex was bought by some Chinese conpany around 5 years ago.
This makes sense to me, beceause I know a lot of "xantrex" stuff has a lot of bad reviews and all of the original "xantrex/trace" gear is now produced and branded snider electric, the people who make square D.

I would look into if it is snider electric, or branded xantrex. If it is the later I would pass.
__________________
"...Baler twine tie downs goin' down the road
On two bald tires and an oversize load..."
Hank's P-O-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 07:35 PM   #20
Bus Nut
 
Jolly Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: North carolina
Posts: 651
Year: 1986
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Ford
Engine: Detroit 8.2
Rated Cap: 60 bodies
Already know square D and Schnieder make them for Xantrex?
Just asking if they were worth installing?
Jolly Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.