Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2019, 04:06 PM   #1
Bus Nut
 
CHEESE_WAGON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 401
Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None
kWh Meter To Measure Power Consumption?

I heard mention of one on a video posted by a member selling their rig recently. This one appeared to be hardwired in-line, but is there such a thing as a kWh meter that can simply plug in-line with a standard 30A shore power or 110V AC drop cord?
__________________
"Cheese Wagon" <anomaly.va@gmail.com>

Former owner - 1989 Ford B700 64-pass Blue Bird (Rest In Peace, Cheese Wagon)
CHEESE_WAGON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 04:14 PM   #2
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 4,801
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
Plenty of options. Here is one:

https://www.amazon.com/Pass-through-...64876786&psc=1
PNW_Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 04:17 PM   #3
Bus Nut
 
CHEESE_WAGON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 401
Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None
Quote:
Originally Posted by PNW_Steve View Post
That's a hard-wired unit. I'm looking for one that simply plugs in, like built-in to a drop cord, preferably something weather-proof for use with a 30A service. I've found a few plug-in units but they can't handle more than about 12-14 amps. I did find this:

MeterMaid 30A Plug-In Power Meter For RV

Not paying $285 for that, though, that's just insane. One FleaBay listing for the same price...
__________________
"Cheese Wagon" <anomaly.va@gmail.com>

Former owner - 1989 Ford B700 64-pass Blue Bird (Rest In Peace, Cheese Wagon)
CHEESE_WAGON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 04:26 PM   #4
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 7,198
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHEESE_WAGON View Post
That's a hard-wired unit. I'm looking for one that simply plugs in, like built-in to a drop cord, preferably something weather-proof for use with a 30A service.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/KILL-A-WATT...gAAOSwuU9dF~et
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 05:59 PM   #5
Bus Nut
 
geminusprime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 252
Year: 1997
Coachwork: International
Chassis: Vista 3600
Engine: DT466E / AT545
Rated Cap: 72
I second the Kill-a-watt. I just picked one up last week at Home Depot, Lowes also has them.

Great little units for getting the actual (vs advertised) wattage of appliances. Already found quite a few fibbing on the watt ratings.

Only downside is that its limit is 15 amps.
geminusprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 06:05 PM   #6
Bus Nut
 
CHEESE_WAGON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 401
Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None
Quote:
Originally Posted by geminusprime View Post
I second the Kill-a-watt. I just picked one up last week ... Only downside is that its limit is 15 amps.
That's the problem I have, I'm trying to find out how much juice I'm drawing on someone else's service. I need something that can handle 30 amp without overload. Only one I've found that can handle 30 amps so far is almost $300.
CHEESE_WAGON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 06:11 PM   #7
Bus Nut
 
geminusprime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 252
Year: 1997
Coachwork: International
Chassis: Vista 3600
Engine: DT466E / AT545
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHEESE_WAGON View Post
That's the problem I have, I'm trying to find out how much juice I'm drawing on someone else's service. I need something that can handle 30 amp without overload. Only one I've found that can handle 30 amps so far is almost $300.
May not be the most accurate, but better than paying $300.

https://www.amazon.com/Current-Amper...dp/B07JB9B2QL/


Uses Hall effect to determine load without attaching directly to a conductive surface carrying the load (meaning no cutting into cables).

EDIT TO ADD:

Although the unit is rated to 260V, the instructions assume you are using a 2 conductor wire (normally black = hot, white = neutral) as the power source regardless of your voltage. However, in the US, a 3 conductor wire (black = hot, red = hot, white = neutral) provides 240V power inside your house.. Each "hot" carries 120V relative to neutral, and you get 240V across the two "hots". So... when connecting this display to 240V power on a 3 conductor circuit... instead of running a hot and neutral (black and white) to the display like you would for standard 120V wiring, you leave out the neutral connection and run both of the hots (black and red)... one hot to each of the two power terminals on the display. Again, that's ONE hot to EACH power terminal.
geminusprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 06:17 PM   #8
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 4,801
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHEESE_WAGON View Post
That's a hard-wired unit. I'm looking for one that simply plugs in, like built-in to a drop cord, preferably something weather-proof for use with a 30A service. I've found a few plug-in units but they can't handle more than about 12-14 amps. I did find this:

MeterMaid 30A Plug-In Power Meter For RV

Not paying $285 for that, though, that's just insane. One FleaBay listing for the same price...

I think that you are looking for a unicorn.

The hard wired units fit your current spec. The Kill-A-Watt fits your plug in want. Pick one.....

Hard wiring the unit that I linked is very simple and would take me about 5 minutes....
PNW_Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 06:25 PM   #9
Bus Nut
 
CHEESE_WAGON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 401
Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None
Quote:
Originally Posted by geminusprime View Post
May not be the most accurate, but better than paying $300.
Probably about as close as I'll get to what I'm looking for without paying an arm and a leg.
Quote:
Originally Posted by geminusprime View Post
EDIT TO ADD:
ENGLISH, DOC!
The junction box feeding my "umbilical cord" was installed specifically to run a drop cord to the 30 amp service on the RV, so I think we can safely presume that the source circuit is 2-conductor, as is the line I plan to monitor, (the cord from there to the RV). My old man is an electrician, so hard wiring isn't that big of a deal, I guess. I just don't want to do anything too permanent, as he is thinking of selling the place.
CHEESE_WAGON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 06:51 PM   #10
Bus Nut
 
CHEESE_WAGON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 401
Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None
Quote:
Originally Posted by PNW_Steve View Post
I think that you are looking for a unicorn.
Not really, just bloody farkin' expensive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PNW_Steve View Post
The hard wired units fit your current spec. The Kill-A-Watt fits your plug in want. Pick one.....

Hard wiring the unit that I linked is very simple and would take me about 5 minutes....
For anyone who is experienced in wiring alternating current systems, it is. I know nothing of AC current, and I'm not enthused about fooling with something that can kill me if I don't know what I'm doing.

As mentioned in my last post on this thread, my old man could probably do this no problem, however he is thinking about selling the place, hence, I don't want to do anything too permanent.
CHEESE_WAGON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.