Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2011, 05:26 PM   #21
Bus Geek
 
lornaschinske's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Roswell, NM
Posts: 3,587
Year: 1986
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: 40 ft All American FE
Engine: 8.2LTA Fuel Pincher DD V8
Rated Cap: 89
Re: noob here, help with electrical

Quote:
Originally Posted by headin2MT
Another question I have. Please indulge me....Can I put my 2 6volt batteries next to my 2 starting batteries. I'm talking right up next to each other, kissing as it were? ...
Shouldn't be a problem. But I do have to ask..... WHY do you have two starting batteries? You only need one. You DO need to make sure you use some really hefty battery cables (this is not the place to save $$$).
__________________
This post is my opinion. It is not intended to influence anyone's judgment nor do I advocate anyone do what I propose.
Fulltime since 2006
The goal of life is living in agreement with nature. Zeno (335BC-264BC)
http://lorndavi.wordpress.com/blog/
http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/s...ps0340a6ff.jpg
lornaschinske is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 06:24 PM   #22
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 45
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Ford B-series AmTran
Engine: Cummins 5.9 L
Rated Cap: 65
Re: noob here, help with electrical

only one? really? ........ these came with the bus, so your saying I can take one out and it will start just fine?
headin2MT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 06:30 PM   #23
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 45
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Ford B-series AmTran
Engine: Cummins 5.9 L
Rated Cap: 65
Re: noob here, help with electrical

I AM running the stereo, all bus lights and stock vehicle accessories from these two batteries, Its what came with our school bus in the first place....i already said that, sorry. Again, u say I need only one? Because if that were true, I could have a whole lot more space in the box, which is 27 inch from bow to stern. 16 inch from port to starboard.
headin2MT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 09:53 AM   #24
Bus Crazy
 
Diesel Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,489
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/AT545
Re: noob here, help with electrical

My diesel bus also has two batteries as a stock option. My diesel pickup truck also has two batteries. I only have one battery in my diesel Mercedes, but it's HUGE. I think the purpose of having two batteries in a diesel is that due to higher compression, its harder to turn a diesel engine and therefor puts a heavier demand on the batteries. Sure, one battery will start the engine under normal circumstances, but if you are in a situation where you have to do a lot of cranking (say, due to losing prime on your fuel or the weather is really cold), you will run out of juice more quickly with only one battery. I would not give up my second cranking battery.
__________________
Gallery:
http://www.skoolie.net/gallery/v/Skooli ... l_dan_bus/
Conversion Thread:
viewtopic.php?t=4959
Diesel Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 11:06 AM   #25
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 45
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Ford B-series AmTran
Engine: Cummins 5.9 L
Rated Cap: 65
Re: noob here, help with electrical

After careful research, and your opinion, which closely sounds like my own train of thought, yea, we'll keep it.
Now back to the subject, can I put the starting and deep cycle batteries next to each other? Like I said, RIGHT next to each other, kissin as it were?
headin2MT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 02:51 PM   #26
Bus Crazy
 
gbstewart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,171
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: 3800 International
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 72
Re: noob here, help with electrical

Im putting my deep cycle battery in the battery box right beside each other, I dont see any problem with that, just make sure that it is tyed downwith a holder
I also would keep the 2 start batteries,much better for cranking power.

just my 2 cents
gbstewart
__________________
my bus build viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5931
gbstewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 10:31 AM   #27
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 45
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Ford B-series AmTran
Engine: Cummins 5.9 L
Rated Cap: 65
Re: noob here, help with electrical

Awesome, thats the plan then...
headin2MT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 09:29 AM   #28
Bus Crazy
 
Diesel Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,489
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/AT545
Re: noob here, help with electrical

Putting batteries next to each other should not be a problem, but will they be on a slide-out? Is the box sturdy enough to support the weight? Those are the questions I would be considering. I was originally going to have 4 house batteries, but they were sitting in a sort of wood drawer inside the bus that just slides along the floor and they were so heavy I was having trouble sliding them out for maintenance, so I changed my mind and went with two instead. If I decide to invest in heavy duty sliders I might go back to four.
__________________
Gallery:
http://www.skoolie.net/gallery/v/Skooli ... l_dan_bus/
Conversion Thread:
viewtopic.php?t=4959
Diesel Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 11:02 AM   #29
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 446
Year: 89
Coachwork: thomas
Engine: 7.3 diesel
Re: noob here, help with electrical

Dan, I put a lookput post for you in "everything else"
__________________
see my conversion at http://www.skoolie.net/gallery/v/Skoolies/Putters+Bus/
putterspitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 02:46 PM   #30
Bus Crazy
 
roach711's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Farmington Hills, Mi (Detroit area)
Posts: 1,572
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Eldorado Aerotech 24'
Chassis: Ford E-450 Cutaway Bus
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 19
Re: noob here, help with electrical

Diesels need two batteries (or one BIG battery) because of the high compression of the motor and the draw of the glow plugs prior to starting. Starting batteries in normal gas engines don't have to deal with these loads so can be much smaller.
__________________
The Roach Motel
roach711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noob, checking in... bubbaman Everything Else | General Skoolie Discussions 3 07-26-2011 05:32 PM
Noob needs advice mamayogibear Everything Else | General Skoolie Discussions 5 06-02-2011 07:03 PM
Looking at a bus tomorrow. Help a noob out :) M1031 Conversion General Discussions 1 06-18-2010 04:31 PM
Noob looking for a cheap bus haarvik Conversion General Discussions 3 06-17-2009 05:59 PM
Extreme Noob with questions. Halitosis Conversion General Discussions 15 04-28-2009 05:40 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.