Old 03-07-2011, 10:33 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Ford B-series AmTran
Engine: Cummins 5.9 L
Rated Cap: 65
noob here, help with electrical

What is the most economical way to run power for a flat screen tv, coffee pot, backup camera and monitor, laptop and cellphone charger? Plus any other ecential minor electronics? Please help.
headin2MT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 10:35 AM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Re: noob here, help with electrical

I am capable but not an expert in electronics, so the simpler the better.
Old 03-07-2011, 01:12 PM   #3
Skoolie

Year: 1988
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: 8.2L Detroit N/A, Allison

A lot depends on how you're going to use your bus. My bus will be doing a lot of traveling, so powering nearly everything off of 12v is "free power." I don't plan to do much (if any) boondocking, so I'll be plugged into shore power. But I will still have a lot of 12v "stuff" so I am going to get a converter (not inverter) to power my 12v stuff while on shore power. Even if I do any boondocking, I'll have a genset (probably 5000 watt). It'll run through the converter. The converter will also charge the house batteries...when I get them. I haven't calculated the load just yet, so I'll have to do that when I get to that point.

To me, for me, running most everything 12v is the way to go. However, if you'll be parked most of the time, 120v AC might be better.

I hope that helps...just think about how you're going to be using your bus. Best of luck.

Ben.
NewSkewlHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 05:38 PM   #4
Mini-Skoolie