Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-06-2012, 11:41 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 1992
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: All American RE
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
onan bfa wiring questions

Can you guys school me on my options for wiring up my Onan bfa? I am really a novice when it comes to 120 volt and wiring outlets, etc.

Basically what I have is one 15 amp outlet wired up to the M1 and M2 outputs via a 30 amp circuit breaker. Since my unit is a 33 amp generator, is it possible to wire up a second 15 amp outlet. Giving me 2 separate outlets and the possibility of running the battery charger on one circuit and the vacuum or microwave on the second circuit. Does that make sense? Am I thinking about this correctly? Any advice?

Another question... I've noticed both the starting battery ground and the ground on the AC side are attached to the mounting plate of the generator. I've placed the generator in one of the underbelly storage compartments and it is sitting on a sheet of plywood. Should I run a ground strap from the generator to the frame of the bus?

Thanks for the help.

syke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 03:00 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Re: Onan BFA wiring questions

Yes, you can run another 15 amps from the generator. But you should consider the 30 amp breaker on the unit like the main disconnect on a house, and not as the protection for your branch circuits. You should have separate 15 amp breakers on the two circuits.

If you are not installing a full wiring panel, the most inexpensive way to do that would be to get a duplex outlet with an internal 15 amp GFCI ground fault interrupter/circuit breaker for each circuit. They can also protect added conventional outlets downstream, but both the hot and neutral of additional protected outlets MUST go through the GFCI outlet connected to the load side. The grounds can be tied together.