Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2016, 09:58 PM   #1
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Port angeles, Wa
Posts: 145
Year: 90
Coachwork: bluebird conventional
Chassis: international
Engine: dt466
Rated Cap: 72
Running ac and dc wires together

I have been searching the board and not finding the answer, I know it's out there just can't find it.

I read somewhere that you should not run ac and dc wiring close together.
can you? if not how far apart should the looms be?
bluebird90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 10:32 PM   #2
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Garden State (rural NJ)
Posts: 383
If you're running them in separate looms, that is sufficient. Ideally, you just don't want the individual wires touching. This is to avoid noisy power that can mess up a radio, etc. The NEC allows for both AC & DC (up to 600v) to be run together in the same race.
BusFiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 03:27 PM   #3
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Port angeles, Wa
Posts: 145
Year: 90
Coachwork: bluebird conventional
Chassis: international
Engine: dt466
Rated Cap: 72
The main thing I heard about was induction voltage from ac to dc. not sure if thats true.
bluebird90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 01:40 AM   #4
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 38
when to close as in touching threes always the chance no matter hoe remote . That with chaffing insulation gets worn to the point you get 120 volt ac bleeding to your 12 volt system which will fry anything attached . then threes always the chance of getting zapped when you step off the bus .

I earlier posted why reinvent the wheel and put up a link to battery maintenance from a sailing mag I still get even though I gave up sailing several years ago they have many of the same problems rv'ing dose and the solutions work for us as well .

They actually have spec's and codes established by the industry and the governments .


Worth a look for ideas if no other reason .

electrical | Cruising World
__________________
Progress doesn't come from early risers progress is made by lazy men looking for easier ways to do things.
mad_wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 06:18 AM   #5
Bus Crazy
 
Scooternj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: EHT New Jersey
Posts: 1,134
Year: 2003
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: International 3000RE
Engine: T444E/AT545
Rated Cap: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluebird90 View Post
The main thing I heard about was induction voltage from ac to dc. not sure if thats true.
Yes, AC can induce a voltage with no current in a DC circuit. Electricity is no joke; you can fry your gear and yourself. We can offer advice, but research the actual regulations.

For me, I was thinking of running two separate lines- AC down low, DC up high- and in their separate conduit.
__________________
Hey! That's not an RV, that's a school bus.
Well thank you for noticing, Captain Obvious

Captain Obvious on deviantArt
Scooternj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 06:26 AM   #6
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 5,048
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
my DC wires are in welding cable then in convoluted tubing amnd placed in the bottom of a chaseway i made.. my AC wires are in the same chaseway at the top of it so theres a couple inches and a flexible A/C duct in the same chase, I have tested wit ha meter and havent seen any induced voltasges ion either side,, my AC and DC are a couple inches apart from each other..
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 10:28 AM   #7
Bus Nut
 
Carytowncat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Richmond Virginia
Posts: 893
Year: 1984
Engine: 366 Big block Chevy! :) w/ Stick shift
Hi,

I ran my ac line in the same track as my dc line from front to rear of the bus. when i play my stereo in the rear i get a whisker of hum that i can only hear when the music volume is so low i can barely hear music.

AC does induce noise into dc lines. Yes. If you are a sound engineer then by all means run em apart. Also i have these wires run along the floor, if ever there is a problem it will not be a hassle to change. If i were to run behind a wall with insulation.... i would probably run em a few inches apart.

Good question, and good luck!
Carytowncat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.