Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2009, 05:13 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 52
Running new Wiring for lights?

I have some questions about the wiring of headlights, break lights, turn signals etc. I havent purchased a bus yet, still in planning stage..

I am thinking that I want to re-wire all the lights not using the stock wire harness (or stock lights probably) this way I know all the wires are good perhaps even overkill in quality. Also I would like to have more control over the lights than you get with a normal vehicle set up.

I would like to have individual toggle switches at the dash to turn on or off each headlight, and a switch that would turn off the tail/brake lights.

I realize the "dangers" of having a blackout mode and accidently operating in that mode on roadways...I do not belive this will be a problem.

I am looking for approx cost to wire up like this, not counting cost of lights. Also advice on how it should be wired, type/quage of wire to use, fuses, anything else that might help...

Thanks in advance
TF
__________________
Currently looking to purchase a schoolbus in the oklahoma area.
Thundarfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 11:10 AM   #2
Bus Nut
 
Papabear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southwest Wyoming
Posts: 334
Year: 1991
Coachwork: ward
Chassis: IH
Engine: dt466
Rated Cap: 72
Re: Running new Wiring for lights?

Why?
The wiring for the lights is already installed and heavy duty enough. You could just tap into the existing system and add toggles to control "black out" functions. Remember, your in a bus. There really is no stealth mode while driving. To rewire the whole thing would be a lot of time & money if you going with all new switches, wire, relays, lights, Etc. That money could be saved and used elsewhere. I could see a problem, like you bump the tail/stop light switch. They are off and you don't know it. Your having "just one beer", A friend has a little herb in the pocket, and you get pulled over. Probable cause to search. Bus in impound, you get free breakfast.
__________________
"I've never been lost, but I been mighty confused for several days"
Papabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 07:57 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 52
Re: Running new Wiring for lights?

several of the busses I have looked at I dont think I would trust the current wiring, there is a 57 I am looking at that dosent even have any wiring....pluse I want to use high output lights and more of them so I will have to rewire some anyway everything I have read so far says that stock vehicle (it was jeeps but still) wiring is not strong enough for high power off road lights.

Pluse I like the idea of knowing how everything works and knowing which wire goes where and does what because I put it there...

As for accidently flipping the switch I plan to have lift covers over them so they can not be bumped...might even use a turn key switch...

And driving any vehicle while drinking or doing drugs would just be dumb...
I have driven many military vehicles and they all had a black out mode, I am comfertable with its safe operation...

but mostly I just want custom lights and lots of them, but dont want them all on all the time.
__________________
Currently looking to purchase a schoolbus in the oklahoma area.
Thundarfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 09:44 PM   #4
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: California, Just NorthEast of San Fransisco
Posts: 539
Re: Running new Wiring for lights?

Is there a type of flip-switch that will toggle itself when the power goes out? Then, when you turn off the bus, all your switches will reset and you will have to re-toggle them to turn stuff off again.

But, on the other hand, I dont see the point in deactivating lights with switches when you have the master light control nob-thingie.
Sojakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 04:13 AM   #5
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 52
Re: Running new Wiring for lights?

So anyway, what guage of stranded wire would be best to run the lights off of?
10, 8, or 6 guage?...and how do you decide which is better anyway?

I am kool with using 10guage because "net expert bob" said to, but would rather be able to evaluate the situation and know for myself which is better...so any help on either front is appreciated.

Thanks
__________________
Currently looking to purchase a schoolbus in the oklahoma area.
Thundarfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 12:54 PM   #6
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 362
Send a message via AIM to baadpuppy Send a message via MSN to baadpuppy Send a message via Yahoo to baadpuppy
Re: Running new Wiring for lights?

It depends on the current draw expected on the wire and the length of the run. Each gauge has specs for how much current draw it can handle. The longer the wire, the higher the resistance, which raises the current. Make sure that the fuse you put on each line is rated at less than the max current for that wire. You want your fuse to melt before your wire does.

I can't give you a specific "use gauge X for this" answer. The answer is "it depends", and you'll need to do some research to determine the answer.

Bear in mind, that you can generally take the wattage and divide by the voltage to get the current. So, a 120 watt bulb that works for 12 volts would be 10 amps. You would then add some wiggle room to that, and make sure your wire is rated for 15 or even 20 amps, then put your fuse at around 15 amps.

Also, if you decide to go 24 volt, that same bulb would only pull 5 amps. That translates to smaller wire, and cost savings. However, there's a cost associated with implementing a 24 volt system in a vehicle designed for a 12 volt system.

For my bus, I plan to replace all the marker lights with LED markers. That includes turn, tail, brake, clearance, etc. I'll keep the headlights stock. I'll never have to worry about the factory wiring for anything other than the headlights. If I choose to add some offroad lights, I'll wire them separately and make sure to use the appropriate rated wire at that time.

In a car, the length of the wire generally isn't all that important. Your battery is typically located under the hood, and you're typically pulling the wire either to the front (fog/offroad lights) or to the dash area, which is a minimal length. When pulling to the trunk, you want to bump up 1 or 2 gauge levels (or more, depending on the load). With a bus, those lengths are greatly increased. Keep that in mind.

hope this helps,
jim
baadpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 03:45 PM   #7
Bus Geek
 
the_experience03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint James, MN
Posts: 2,669
Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03
Re: Running new Wiring for lights?

I can't emphasize the use of relays enough. You can pick up 10 of them on eBay for $25 or less. If you go to the junkyards there will be three of them with sockets behind the glove box of Chevy trucks from ~88-95 that have the solid state heater controls that you can probably pick up for $1.

Using relays your switches carry very little current. You can run one fat wire all the way to the back to carry the power and split it using a relay to control each light. Then cheap light gauge wire can come from your switch panel. It is infinitely safer and more efficient. To run your wiring from the switches to the relays for the control you can't beat using 4-plex trailer wiring. It's cheap, easy to work with, and convenient because you will have 4 different colors of wire bonded together.
__________________
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3024/...09f20d39_m.jpg
Skooling it...one state at a time...
the_experience03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 09:21 PM   #8
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 52
Re: Running new Wiring for lights?

Thank you both for your advice, which along with what google has been teaching me I belive I can do this!

I picked up a lot of info from http://www.lunghd.com/Tech_Articles/Ele ... Lights.htm its geared twords hooking up high power reverse lights but the tech is the same. This coupled with the 4-plex trailer wiring (and cheap source of relays) and the "forumula" to decide wire size and I should be in like flin...I will probably re-post something more when I have lights and relays and am ready to buy wire just to make sure I am on track...

Thanks a lot!
__________________
Currently looking to purchase a schoolbus in the oklahoma area.
Thundarfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 12:05 AM   #9
Bus Geek
 
the_experience03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint James, MN
Posts: 2,669
Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03
Re: Running new Wiring for lights?

Ironically, I have a very similar setup that I just put on my truck to power both reverse lights on it and on the trailer via the plug. I, however, left out the diodes so that I can backfeed my factory reverse lights and turn them on with the switch.

Go to it! Wiring is pretty simple and you can do some fun things with relays. There are a few other supplies you should pick up including solder and a soldering iron, shrink tube, and liquid electrical tape. I like to solder the connections, coat them in liquid electrical tape, and then shrink over them. Crimp on connections last surprisingly long if you go the liquid tape and shrink tube route as well.
__________________
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3024/...09f20d39_m.jpg
Skooling it...one state at a time...
the_experience03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 04:07 AM   #10
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 52
Re: Running new Wiring for lights?

I know from previous workings, that I can't solder worth a crap. So it will have to be crimp for me. thanks for the tip about liqued tape, I was going to just shrink wrap.
__________________
Currently looking to purchase a schoolbus in the oklahoma area.
Thundarfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Lights and tail lights not working bapos Alternative Fuels | Electric, Propane, Wood Gasification, etc. 2 12-14-2011 12:32 PM
inner running lights headin2MT Conversion General Discussions 2 03-02-2011 06:40 PM
Tail lights,running lights not working putterspitt Conversion General Discussions 2 10-12-2010 06:19 PM
LED running lights adamanderr Conversion General Discussions 2 03-13-2008 03:40 AM
short in running lights jl ruby Conversion General Discussions 6 03-15-2006 09:21 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.