Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2015, 10:59 AM   #11
Site Team
 
bansil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MNT CITY TN
Posts: 5,044
use the main breaker on the power pole at campsite

from there your power cable will connect to your inputs (circled above in red)

take your "double" breakers and they clip into/on the aluminum stand offs


Pick up 3 half size double breakers




I used 15 amp breakers because I used 12 ga wire and it's good for 20 amps so I undersized breaker
__________________
Our build La Tortuga
Accept the challenges so that you can feel the exhilaration of victory.
George S. Patton
bansil is offline  
Old 08-31-2015, 11:04 AM   #12
Bus Nut
 
Zephod_beeblebrox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lexington sc
Posts: 482
Year: 1994
Coachwork: carpenter
Chassis: international
Engine: 466dt
Rated Cap: 59
I need to put some kind of main breaker so that I don't accidentally take 30A off a 15A house cable. Maybe I need a second breaker box though I thought a 6 breaker box would do it.
Zephod_beeblebrox2 is offline  
Old 08-31-2015, 11:13 AM   #13
Site Team
 
bansil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MNT CITY TN
Posts: 5,044
Well, if your plugged into a house circuit, you will use that breaker as the control breaker, it will only allow 15 amps total from it so you will be good to go

make sure that a fridges and freezers etc are not on it, I only have 2 15 amp receptacles at the house I can use, rest have to much other crap on them

so just like the 30/50 you use the breakers installed to regulate your source
__________________
Our build La Tortuga
Accept the challenges so that you can feel the exhilaration of victory.
George S. Patton
bansil is offline  
Old 08-31-2015, 11:17 AM   #14
Bus Nut
 
Zephod_beeblebrox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lexington sc
Posts: 482
Year: 1994
Coachwork: carpenter
Chassis: international
Engine: 466dt
Rated Cap: 59
I have a 50A socket with one of each flavor of wire. Do I take the live and put it to hot 1 and 2. When I encounter a 50A supply do I connect the two hots to feed them into my single live wire?
Zephod_beeblebrox2 is offline  
Old 08-31-2015, 11:43 AM   #15
Site Team
 
bansil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MNT CITY TN
Posts: 5,044
get one of these for less than $10


Mighty Cord RV15AM30AF Park Power Adapter 12" 15M-RV30F

and one of these for less than $20


30Amp Male to 50amp Female RV Cord Dogbone Adapter 12'' | eBay

and a 50 amp cord like this

or a socket


how ever you do this bit

NU-CORD 94552 25-Feet 50-Amp Rv Cord, Loose End - Rakuten.com

I BOUGHT ALL MY STUFF ON AMAZON OR EBAY, LOCAL STORES WILL HAVE IT ALSO

so now connect:
white to neutral bar (isolated bar)
green to ground bar (add on bar attached to metal box)
black to hot
red to hot

this will energize all 6 circuit breakers

on 50 amp service you will have 50 amp or so on one "leg" 3 breakers
and 50 amps on the 2nd "leg" 3 breakers

when you put on the 30 amp to 50 amp adapter, you now have 30 amps divided between all 6 circuit breakers

then when you attach the 15 amp to the 30 amp you will have 15 amps divided between all 6 breakers


disclaimer: this is my thinking and logic and there are other ways to do this, this is easy and quick in my mind


also remember if hooked to 50 amp power you also have a 30 amp available and a couple 15 amps on the pole still for say an outdoor ice maker or TV or music and lights (w/o using your 50 available) I never said I was green


also hard wiring only works if you have a place to store the cable, if not then you will need a socket and matching plug to put on your cable

underbelly bins work good for cable storage

I just have a 40# cord I pull out every time
__________________
Our build La Tortuga
Accept the challenges so that you can feel the exhilaration of victory.
George S. Patton
bansil is offline  
Old 08-31-2015, 12:50 PM   #16
Site Team
 
crazycal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Much of what passes for code in the US would fail utterly any UK electrical inspection.
Maybe you can ship the bus to England so they could properly wire your bus since it's so screw up here.
__________________
I'm hungry!

You Gotta Let Me Fly
crazycal is offline  
Old 08-31-2015, 01:12 PM   #17
Site Team
 
bansil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MNT CITY TN
Posts: 5,044
I just noticed in OP that you have a 50 amp 3 pin plug, that will not work in this instance, you will need to change to a 4 pin/wire setup of stick with just 30 amp service with this plug

check this out



__________________
Our build La Tortuga
Accept the challenges so that you can feel the exhilaration of victory.
George S. Patton
bansil is offline  
Old 08-31-2015, 01:30 PM   #18
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,408
Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison 545
Rated Cap: 2
wouldn't a 50amp 3 wire connection hot skin the bus using ground as the neutral?
__________________
.
Turfmobile Build Thread
turf is offline  
Old 08-31-2015, 01:39 PM   #19
Site Team
 
bansil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MNT CITY TN
Posts: 5,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by turf View Post
wouldn't a 50amp 3 wire connection hot skin the bus using ground as the neutral?
I think there may of been some confusion, I believe he has a 3 wire plug rated at 50 amps and NOT a 50 amp RV plug
__________________
Our build La Tortuga
Accept the challenges so that you can feel the exhilaration of victory.
George S. Patton
bansil is offline  
Old 08-31-2015, 02:20 PM   #20
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 1,328
Year: 2000
Chassis: Blue Bird
Engine: ISC 8.3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zephod_beeblebrox2 View Post
My outside socket is this.Attachment 8415
This looks like the "NEMA 10-50" style. It's intended to be used with the two angled blades each connected to one 120 volt hot leg and the one straight blade (parallel to the yoke) grounded. I'm really not sure whether this third pin is properly called "ground" or "neutral" but in any case this style isn't appropriate for most new installations. If you need 240 volt service, get a 4-pole connector.

Quote:
Originally Posted by turf View Post
wouldn't a 50amp 3 wire connection hot skin the bus using ground as the neutral?
turf has identified the reason why those 3-pole connectors aren't used for split 240 volt (US style) connections anymore. If all's working correctly then no you won't get a hot skin, not by more than a volt or two anyway. But there's no fault protection, either. That's why the ground and neutral are wired separately now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zephod_beeblebrox2 View Post
Where do I put the main breaker? This is a 6 breaker box.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timelord View Post
Your breakers don't have to add up to the main breaker. It is all about wire size protection. (Well, that and shocks/shorts.)
You could install a main breaker, and perhaps might to avoid the nuisance of tripping an upstream breaker and having to ask your camping hosts for help finding and resetting it. It isn't necessary though. This is a "sub-panel" and is designed to be wired directly to the supply wires; it's understood a breaker would be installed at the far end of the supply wires to protect them. If you want to have a "main" here too you can; just choose a breaker that is rated for reverse use and connect the incoming supply to its load/output terminal. It could snap into any position in the box, but mark it "MAIN DISCONNECT" since its function won't be obvious once the cover is installed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bansil View Post
bansil did a great job identifying the terminals in the box. One thing to check: be sure that the bus bar marked "neutral" doesn't have any electrical connection to the metal housing. Sometimes they do, and in this case any such connection should be broken.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bansil View Post
I just noticed in OP that you have a 50 amp 3 pin plug, that will not work in this instance, you will need to change to a 4 pin/wire setup of stick with just 30 amp service with this plug
That's good advice. Based on your other threads, it seems your expected electric consumption will be very low, so the traditional TT-30 style plug would be a great choice. Its one hot lead can be wired to both hot bus bars in that panel so that breakers in all positions draw from it.
family wagon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.