Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2019, 12:13 AM   #1
Skoolie
 
Clayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 134
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Thomas 72 passenger
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: 230HP DT466 engine MD3060 transmission
Simple Shore Power System

I'm in the process of wiring my bus. I'm just keeping it simple. For shore power all I will have is 3 plugs in the bus. I plan to run off of 30 amp shore power hook ups. The question is, do I need to have a circuit panel? Or could I just have a GFCI at each plug and wire direct?
Clayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 01:49 AM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
Sleddgracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: south east BC, close to the Canadian/US border
Posts: 1,384
Chassis: still looking for my bus
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clayton View Post
I'm in the process of wiring my bus. I'm just keeping it simple. For shore power all I will have is 3 plugs in the bus. I plan to run off of 30 amp shore power hook ups. The question is, do I need to have a circuit panel? Or could I just have a GFCI at each plug and wire direct?
you need a breaker so you can shut the complete circuit down - a GF just shuts the breaker in the receptacle off
Sleddgracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 09:18 AM   #3
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lebanon, IN
Posts: 231
Year: 1998
Chassis: TC 2000 bluebird
Engine: 5.9 cummins
Rated Cap: 66
The breakers in campground are sometimes sketchy.

And the wire has to be sized for the breaker size. So without your own breakers all of your wire has to be 10 gauge. That would be more expensive than buying a small breaker panel.
miltruckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 11:28 AM   #4
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Hotzona
Posts: 147
Year: 2003
Coachwork: IC
Chassis: 3800
Engine: Navistar T444e
Rated Cap: 24
What Sledd said & milktruck said.

Your over-current protection needs to be sized to your wiring, which in turn is sized according to the loads you plan on running. Assuming the common case of 14awg, that's 15A. So what would happen if your loads - through accident or design - drew more? The 30A shore power breaker - if it worked (which is an assumption you don't want to make) - would happily supply it. But your wiring couldn't handle the load. Cue the pretty orange colors.

What you're considering is both dangerous and a code violation.
TheHubbardBus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 12:13 PM   #5
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 6,339
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleddgracer View Post
you need a breaker so you can shut the complete circuit down - a GF just shuts the breaker in the receptacle off
In my house the GFCI pops, shuts the whole circuit down.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 12:29 PM   #6
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Hotzona
Posts: 147
Year: 2003
Coachwork: IC
Chassis: 3800
Engine: Navistar T444e
Rated Cap: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by o1marc View Post
In my house the GFCI pops, shuts the whole circuit down.
GFCI outlets have 'line' inputs & 'load' outputs, which allows you to protect the circuit downstream of the outlet if wired in a manner utilizing this functionality. You could also wire them so that they didn't, in which case the circuit downstream wouldn't be impacted.

Regardless, GFCIs do not provide overcurrent protection, nor do they provide a means to manually open the ciruit. They're not circuit breakers (though you can have circuit breakers that also provide GFCI protection).
TheHubbardBus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 12:45 PM   #7
Bus Crazy
 
Sleddgracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: south east BC, close to the Canadian/US border
Posts: 1,384
Chassis: still looking for my bus
Quote:
Originally Posted by o1marc View Post
In my house the GFCI pops, shuts the whole circuit down.
it must be throwing the breaker in your breaker box too - without a breaker box the line would still be hot after the GF disconnected
Sleddgracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.