Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2019, 06:58 PM   #1
Bus Nut
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Virginia
Posts: 863
Year: 1971
Coachwork: Wayne
Chassis: International Loadstar 1700
Engine: 345 international V-8
"soft start" for fridge?

I saw on a post about a/c that there is a device to "soft start" the compressor so start up load is less amps. Has anyone done this with their fridge?

My fridge is a 4.7 cu ft mini fridge. It draws 40 watts or so running,or about 4 amps. Start up is 50 amps 12 volt DC,( not 50 amps 110 AC) at the inverter. I would like to get the start up load down a bit if possible.
Ronnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2019, 08:38 PM   #2
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 787
sorry not clickableScreenshot_20190308-213739.jpeg
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2019, 09:46 PM   #3
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 6,870
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by john61ct View Post
sorry not clickableAttachment 30574
Yes it is opens big in a separate screen when clicked.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2019, 11:25 PM   #4
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Greater Houston, Tx.
Posts: 566
I'm thinking it works the same way that is used on the "soft start" A/Cs. It reduces power draw, on the compressor, at 1st "grunt."
1olfart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 05:25 AM   #5
Bus Nut
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Virginia
Posts: 863
Year: 1971
Coachwork: Wayne
Chassis: International Loadstar 1700
Engine: 345 international V-8
Quote:
Originally Posted by john61ct View Post
sorry not clickableAttachment 30574

Thanks typed it in and got it.

How will this work with a fridge? Basically the idea should be just fine, however I assume it(soft start) has capacitors to start the load, so would one for a/c be sized good for a fridge? Seems that it would not?

I have a three phase starter for my milling machine and lathes and it is sized for the motor hp and works great for the correct size motor. For my small mill the motor is too small for the size of the starter so I put a larger motor on the floor to use to balance the load and help create the third phase. I know the phase converter uses capacitors and sizing is important. So with this thinking in mind I am wondering if the same rules apply to the fridge?
Ronnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 11:15 AM   #6
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 11,512
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
a hard start capacitor for a small window unit or a PTAC might very well work..

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 01:08 PM   #7
Bus Nut
 
Jolly Roger bus 223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Swansboro,NC
Posts: 828
Year: 86
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Ford B700
Engine: 8.2
Rated Cap: 60 bodies
Maybe research/try a 3 in 1 capacitor's that are made for fridges.
Jolly Roger bus 223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 07:57 PM   #8
Bus Nut
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Virginia
Posts: 863
Year: 1971
Coachwork: Wayne
Chassis: International Loadstar 1700
Engine: 345 international V-8
Looked up hard start capacitors, and it seems that should work, so will order one and try it out. Might just try it on a small window a/c unit just in case I goof and fry something. Have an old one laying around, better that then my fridge. Then put it on the fridge once I am sure of what I am doing.

Thanks fellows
Ronnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.