Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-03-2019, 01:05 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2004
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE200
Engine: T444e
Solar Installation

I'm totally new to solar, but with more research, I'm starting to feel more confident that I can take this on.

I've narrowed my selections down to the following and was hoping to get advice if this appears to be the best choice? A lot of the information I got was from other solar posts on this site.

I want to be able to run a solar fridge, a 12V television, the water pump, lights, 12V chargers for laptops and cell phones, and occasionally a Keurig. I planned it out with 4 batteries -- not sure if that is overkill.

1200W Monocrystalline Solar Kit ($2902)
https://www.renogy.com/1200-watt-12-...lar-cabin-kit/

Battery (4 @ $405 each)
https://www.renogy.com/deep-cycle-pu...12-volt-200ah/

2000 watt inverter/charger ($600)
https://www.renogy.com/2000w-pure-si...erter-charger/

Cables to connect multiple batteries (3 @ $15 each)
https://www.renogy.com/copper-batter...-5-16-in-lugs/

With the new user 10% welcome discount, and sales tax, everything came to just about $5,100 (more than the bus cost). I know this is probably my biggest single purchase of the conversion.

I'm curious if I'm missing any other key components? I know I'll need more breakers and things like that. But I want to make sure I'm not missing anything that I couldn't easily just pick up at a local store.

Thanks for any advice!

cofrari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 01:22 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2007
Coachwork: ICCORP
Chassis: CE300
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 16