Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-16-2019, 01:16 PM   #1
Almost There

Year: 2002
Engine: T444E/Allison 2000
Solar n00b HELP!!!!

Hey Guys!

I need some serious help, wife is pis***! Lol. We have had our solar set up for a few months now and she is ready for power!! I have absolutely no idea what I am doing so I included a picture of our set up. We opted for strictly 110v (we basically only need to charge laptops/phones for power needs.)

Main questions are what inverter should I get to convert the solar (AC?) power to useable (DC) power? What gauge wire should I run from battery bank to breaker box? And finally how do I physically connect the wires into the breaker box?

I know these are pretty basic things but I have no experience in this so any help is really, really appreciated! Plus, happy wife happy life
Attached Thumbnails
image.jpg  

KevinDarcy11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2019, 02:09 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2007
Coachwork: ICCORP
Chassis: CE300
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 16
Need more information. How many batteries do you have,? what voltage are you running? How many amps is your battery bank? How many watts will you be consuming simultaneously on 110v and how many amps will everything draw? What kind of breaker panel do you have? (You can use one breaker as the main and connect hot to it and common to the common bar).

There are lots of things to be ranked into consideration to properly answer the questions you posed.

Start researching to get a better understanding of electrical systems. Then you can ask the questions while providing sufficient info to answer.

Best of luck...
Old 10-16-2019, 02:13 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Just the two of us.