Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-09-2009, 12:03 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 88
Engine: 7.3 international
solar system for running an A/C

ok i'm new. i've been researching all the ins and outs of building your own rv. this seems to be the place to get good answers. my background is mechanical engineering and design. but i could use some guidance with this electricity stuff.

my conversion will have interior space similar to a short bus (8'x8' floor) and 8' ceiling. it's not a bus. it has FRP sides, and i'll probly add a few layers of foam board insulation, with 5-6 inches on the roof. wile the air conditioned space inside is small the total vehicle length should be 30'. i should only use it for short trips, 2-7 days, 10-20 times a year, off grid. the rest of the time it will sit. on the short trips we will never have power hookups. i wanna run a small window a/c without pissing everyone else off by running a genny.

so 1000W A/C, in 100* 70-100% humidity weather. it'll runn a lot. i'm guessing 7 hours a day. it gets all the way down to 90-85 at night. some sites say i'll get 5 hours of peek sun per day. i know the sun is up and hot for 12 hrs+ all summer. not using the A/C is not an option. this project is about making trips to see the country more comfortable. if i wanted to "cut back" we would just drive in my car and camp. and we will probly still do that, just less often.

i'm thinking i'm gunna need 4 230 watt REC panels. that's 920watts of panels. i haven't found a single charge controller that will support that many panels. i will only accept a 3 stage charger.

so can you run multiple charge controllers to a single battery bank? can you run multiple isolated battery banks into the same inverter?
should i give up on the huge solar system idea and just cart 1500lbs of batteries around?