Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2017, 02:56 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie
 
RayAllen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 18
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Goshen Freightliner
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
Solar with Shore Power

Hey Guys and Gals. Iíve been sick with a cold, that said my down time has me thinking about the one thing in my conversion that confuses me. How to run both Solar and Shore power. Independently I understand for the most part how to set them up. However what is the best way to use the same outlets for both sources. Not at the same time obviously, but when available plug into 30amp and when not use my 2000w solar inverter. 1 thought of mine was to basically wire my 120v outlets into basically extension cords. When off grid they plug into the 2000w inverter. When at Shore Power plug them into a designated Shore power outlet of course wired into a grounded electrical panel with appropriate breakers. It makes sense in my head and would be easy, but does this sound feasible. Is there a better way. I do apologize if this is a redundant question. Iíve watched many YouTube videos and researched and Iím just trying to figure this out. Happy Holidays!
RayAllen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 06:56 PM   #2
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 181
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: AARE 3903
Engine: Cummins 8.3L 12v
Rated Cap: 78
The most straight forward way is to look for an "inverter/charger" that's designed for the purpose. It will have three main connections, DC IN/OUT, AC OUT, and AC IN. They are designed to automatically handle the transition from battery based inverter power to shore power or generator power and charge the battery while surplus AC power is available. The fancier ones can do things like automatically start a generator when the battery gets low, use battery/inverter to supplement the generator when loads are too high, provide split phase 120/240 from either 120 or 240 shore connections, etc.

Other wise you will need an AC transfer switch, or some manual way to switch over as you are contemplating.
miscrms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 11:39 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie
 
RayAllen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 18
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Goshen Freightliner
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
Thanks for the reply. I think Iíve got it figured out.
RayAllen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 12:24 AM   #4
Bus Nut
 
Defjr333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Culpeper, Virginia
Posts: 250
Chassis: Shuttle or Shorty. Still hunting
Engine: Prefer Diesel
Rated Cap: 14 to 24 pref
Be sure to do a power usage calculator to determine your needs. No sense in paying for a 3kW inverter/charger if u only need 1200kW etc. Or buy a 3kW and need 6kW or more. They are not cheap. I went with:

https://www.walmart.com/ip/AIMS-Powe...arger/50754204

Doug
Defjr333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 01:56 AM   #5
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Kent, WA (Seattle)
Posts: 391
Year: 1987
Engine: 6.9L Diesel
Quote:
Originally Posted by miscrms View Post
The most straight forward way is to look for an "inverter/charger" that's designed for the purpose. It will have three main connections, DC IN/OUT, AC OUT, and AC IN. They are designed to automatically handle the transition from battery based inverter power to shore power or generator power and charge the battery while surplus AC power is available.
Yup that's what I have in mine. Works well, I think. If I understand my system as well as I should my magnum only charges at like 14.4v I believe, so the solar tops off my system at 14.8v.



When the time comes, I think I'm just going to have an extension cord which runs from my genny and make a transfer switch in my "ac in" box. But everyone here probably understands electricity better than me.
TAOLIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 11:14 AM   #6
Bus Nut
 
Defjr333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Culpeper, Virginia
Posts: 250
Chassis: Shuttle or Shorty. Still hunting
Engine: Prefer Diesel
Rated Cap: 14 to 24 pref
Same here. Cant see spending $$$ for a transfer switch when I can just plug genny to shore input with a cord. Simple, works, less to go bad/ break, less $$$.
Doug
Defjr333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 11:19 AM   #7
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Owasso, OK
Posts: 1,174
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf-T-Liner MVP ER
Engine: Cummins 6CTA8.3 Mechanical MD3060
Rated Cap: 46 Coach Seats, 40 foot
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defjr333 View Post
Same here. Cant see spending $$$ for a transfer switch when I can just plug genny to shore input with a cord. Simple, works, less to go bad/ break, less $$$.
Doug
It's an easy approach.

Auto-switching is usually used only where you have a remote-start genny and want to switch over from a single panel.

Otherwise, just plug it in.
__________________
Steve Bracken

Build Thread
Twigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 12:24 PM   #8
Mini-Skoolie
 
RayAllen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 18
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Goshen Freightliner
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
Iím going to have a couple of designated Shore power outlets for those high draw items. The remaining I will be able to switch between either solar or shore. attached is my general plan. May change a bit, but you get the idea.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg F2F6730A-F457-49B6-9F8B-ABE04B54E82B.jpeg (154.0 KB, 19 views)
RayAllen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.