Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2019, 05:36 PM   #1
Almost There
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 94
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: Cat C7
Wiring a 12 volt socket

I thought this task was straightforward. I want to connect a 12 volt outlet to my bus. I put the terminal in an empty fuse slot and grounded it. See photo. No juice. I know that the fuse has power because I tested it with a voltmeter and it read 12 volts.

What am I doing wrong?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 23C85EB0-C37E-486B-8A38-014E7A0ADC94.jpg (237.8 KB, 35 views)
TeacherJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 05:38 PM   #2
Bus Nut
 
ermracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Unity, NH
Posts: 281
Year: 2003
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DT466E (195hp, 520tq)
Rated Cap: 29,000
Double check the ground?
__________________
Dave
ermracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 06:42 PM   #3
Bus Crazy
 
somewhereinusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Andrews,Indiana
Posts: 1,982
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Just the two of us.
All of those type fuse taps I can find need a fuse plugged into it. Is there a place on the side that looks like a fuse would plug into it? By the way those look like circuit breakers on your bus not fuses. A couple of them look a mite crispy but, could just be the picture.
somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 09:17 PM   #4
Bus Crazy
 
david.dgeorge07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,343
Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: CAT 3126
The red wire on the right?

So when you meter the socket you get power but not when you meter the wire?

As others said, either a missing in-line fuse or a bad ground.

Is that butt splice solid? I have pretty well sworn those off...solder is slower, but it doesnít fail.
__________________
My Build Thread:

http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f11/4-...ner-18205.html
david.dgeorge07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 04:33 AM   #5
Almost There
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 94
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: Cat C7
Quote:
Originally Posted by david.dgeorge07 View Post
The red wire on the right?

So when you meter the socket you get power but not when you meter the wire?

As others said, either a missing in-line fuse or a bad ground.

Is that butt splice solid? I have pretty well sworn those off...solder is slower, but it doesnít fail.
Yes, regarding the metering. It has a good inline fuse. I think youíre probably right about the butt splice. Iíll redo that. Thanks.

Joe
TeacherJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12 volt, fuse, ground, socket

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.