Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-25-2017, 04:04 PM   #221
Almost There

To each his own! Whatever works for you. I am a mobile generator tech. You can't always find a place to go. Most of us in the company use a 5 gallon bucket with a tight fitting lid. A lot of the other guys live in apartments or live in town and do not have a compost pile. I do have serveral large compost bins and it works out really good.

superduty_59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 12:55 PM   #222
Bus Crazy

Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 65 pax
Quote:
Originally Posted by brokedown View Post
This thread has truly lost the plot.

LMAO... truth. It's all gone to ****!! [emoji38]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
WanderWoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 03:23 PM   #223
Bus Crazy

Quote:
Originally Posted by warewolff View Post
Back to helpful comments, I ended up with a composting toilet. Just because the whole concept of my rig is to be completely self sufficient (minus diesel) and off-grid. I bought the Nature's Head model. It was expensive but it is really nice. I did mod it slightly, however, in upgrading the 12v fan. The original one pulled .07 amps and my new one, slightly larger in size, pulls .15 I think. Both values are negligible to me with an 10kWh battery backup. The new fan seems to push a LOT more air. I wasn't having any problems with back draft but it seemed like the original was weak. I ran the exhaust out the side with a mushroom vent and added no-see-um mesh on both the intake and exhaust so I don't end up with any bugs inside. I'll update after a few more months of use, but happy I pulled the trigger on that.