Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-26-2018, 09:35 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: 8.3l Cummins
Plumbing System

I've been snooping on various plumbing plans and I wanted to set out my own for criticism/constructive feedback. Disclaimer 1: I'm a complete novice when it comes to plumbing so go gentle. Disclaimer 2: It's a long post, sorry. Disclaimer 3: I haven't drawn a plan yet, which would perhaps make things clearer. If anyone struggles then I'll upload something this weekend.

Context - We are 2 adults and 3 young kids (under 4yrs). Currently live in BC, Canada - Note all prices are CAD and it's harder to get stuff online here, hence the overkill on Amazon.ca. We will be full-timing and hoping to go for periods of perhaps a week off-grid. Will hopefully be hopefully in warmer climates - heading south of the border and further beyond the States in the next few years.

As simple people, we are trying to be simple - 2 x shower (one external), 1 x tap/sink. Compost toilet, no black water. 100 gal fresh internally mounted, smaller grey externally on the underside. LPG hot water.

Plan- I'm going to get this city water/inlet plate and mount it at the back of the bus on the driver side.

Gravity inlet feed to the top of the 100 gallon fresh water tank, which will be framed in directly on the subfloor below the master bedroom at the back of the bus (behind the rear wheels arches). Vent from fresh tank to the plate.

Gravity outlet from bottom of fresh tank to the SHURflo pump, via a strainer.

Pump to an accumulator tank (to even out the flow).

Do I need a pressure gauge at this point to check the pump output pressure?

One way 'check' valve to the rest of the system (probably going to use push-to-fit/sharkbite connections throughout the system for ease/laziness - judge away).