Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-02-2019, 08:01 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2002
Coachwork: AmTran 11 Window
Chassis: IHC
Engine: DT466e
Radiant Hydronic Heating and More

More... the whole plumbing system actually. Currently it exists only on paper and before I birth it into the world, I'm hoping for some constructive criticism from those who have actually constructed.

Plans are for fully integrated system, sans black tank.
-100 gal fresh tank, 70 gal grey (the biggest I could fit in basement)
-Dual tankless heaters, elec for on-grid, propane for off-grid
-Radiant in-floor hyrdonic heating
The rest seems to be standard skoolie fare...

The radiant heating gives me the most pause. Has anyone done this with a tankless heater? Can I use a branch off the fresh water, or do I need a separate closed system with a heat exchanger?

I am a complete novice with plumbing... I've attached a diagram of my best attempt, but hoping someone more knowledgeable can pick it apart. Many thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Plumbing Diagram v1.0.JPG  

paulnack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2019, 10:32 AM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

I'm a noob on Skoolie Conversions, but looking at your drawing, I have a concern. For your radiant heating system, you need a couple of things to make sure that you don't build up pressure in the closed loop system.
1. Small expansion tank teed off of the lines running to your hydronic system. This will allow expansion of the hot water in and contraction of the cold water in the system.
2. A pressure relief valve. If, for some reason, the pressure gets too high in your system, this valve allows controlled release of water.

Since you already are thinking 2 water heaters, why don't you just do 2 LP heaters. One for the heating system and one for the hot water system to keep things separate.

Mike in Pittsburgh, PA
Hengy is offline   Reply With Quote