Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-28-2017, 04:02 PM   #1

Year: 2001
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466
Question water level monitoring system

Hello fellow skoolie family! To monitor my fresh water tank levels I was thinking of using a gauge and sensor (like in the fuel tank) ... will this work? Can I just use a regular fuel tank sensor system (new, of course)? I don't have a black tank and at the moment no grey either so I only need to monitor the fresh water tank & thought it could look cool having an old-style gauge. However, I'm new to allll this but have figured out electrical already so how hard can basic plumbing be How complicated would it be to set it up? Capacitor fluid level sensor ring any bells?

highspiritsjourney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 04:43 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 86
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Ford B700
Engine: 8.2
Rated Cap: 60 bodies
It is actually called a capacitive fluid level sensor which would do the job while parked and I think the gauge will go crazy while moving.
I have done a lot of fuel and oil type tanks that use all kinds of brands and ideas for that type of sensor and you always have to buy that manufacturers control panel(not a guage) to be able to read that specific sensor's resistance.
What size openings do you have in your tank? Most freshwater tanks only have 1/2"-3/4" openings in them so the idea of using an old school fuel sending unit and guage would require you to make your own hole.
There are options?
I salvaged my tanks from an old coachmen RV and got the controller to go with it for all three tanks. Each tank has a brass stud plastic welded(which is cheap to do yourself)into the tank with a 1/4" stud stuck out for a wire connection at about an inch from the bottom,mid way up,and one about an inch from the top.
Several options and ideas there also.