Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-09-2018, 05:46 AM   #1
Almost There

Built in AC Units - Remove?

Can I ask why anyone would want to get rid of the AC units that are built into the bus?

I live in Florida and it seems those inside AC units are getting pretty common on buses we are looking at here. Is there something about the system that isn't compatible with a schoolie conversion? Should we be avoiding them for conversion?

I assume they only work with the engine running so that limits their effectiveness and they do tend to be damn ugly and in really bad locations for a schoolie but not having any AC while your driving would suck no?

I am just getting into this schoolie world so please forgive any nativity as I am still just trying to figure this all out.

PNWorBUST72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 07:48 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
since I drive my busses on average 15,000+ miles per year(each). (to florida in the summer too).... I say never get rid of the inside A/C unless you like to sweat driving.. me personally? i have no interest in going back to the days of towels wrapped around our heads to stay cool on those hot school field trip rides...

if you have a rear engine bus you have a better shot at a generator and whatever electric A/C you choose for camping keeping you somewhat cool on the road.. in a front engine bus even insulated you have a lot of engine heat to contend with.. not to mention that nig windshield with the sun beaming in.

I see a lot of people pull one unit out.. keep the front one. if you must choose.. and insulate your bus very well. and you'll have comfort for driving plus whatever you choose for being parked..