Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-31-2014, 11:16 PM   #1
Bus Geek

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: 190hp 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Hydronic Radiant Heating in a Bus

As a building Contractor, I've had the opportunity to install heating and cooling systems of all sorts. Most get the job done, but far less than perfect. Only one system covers all bases, is fully modular, and virtually limitless.

In the pages to follow, I will post pics, Tech, and ongoing research into how to install this all into a bus. Then in the spring I will install the system into the Haul All.

Some history.

The fist Hydronic Heating system I installed was in a small 416 square foot cabin. It's a realy small space, so I used a 40 gal propane hot water tank rated at 38 000 Btu output, but only 58% efficient. Two loops of 300 feet each run under the floor spaced every 6", laying in aluminum heat plates, under a layer of 3/8th OSB, fallowed by a layer of glue strip vinyl plank flooring. For redundancy, I used two Grundfos UPS15-58FRC 3-Speed Circulatory Pumps. System is a closed loop, run at 30PSI, filled with glycol.

Cabin has R60 in the floor and ceiling, R20 in the north and south walls, R12 in the east and west walls. All walls are wrapped with 1.5" rigid Styrofoam board decoupling the framing from the cold / heat of the outdoors.

Even with that realy low efficiency hot water tank, the Cabin uses less than $50 a month to heat. Potable hot water is done by a 12 gallon electric so the heating tank can be shut down in the summer.