Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-02-2019, 11:17 AM   #1

Year: 83
Coachwork: DODGE
Maybe the last a/c solar question thread ever

I'm a NOOB on this forum but not a NOOB to forums. I also tried searching and found endless threads on A/C systems that run off solar but it seems like most of them get left un answered because of someone not sharing their specifications goals battery capacity etc.

I'm hoping that this one can be a success story of peoples systems?

I currently have a 2002 International 8 window bus with the 7.3 desiel engine with NO A/C what's so ever. Nothing on the engine or remote. I have only removed the interior seating and I am in the planning stages of the build. Which is why this question for me is coming up.

I am married with an almost 5 year old and a 10 month old so we feel it is necessary to have an A/C system that can run while driving down the road as well as parked. Most of our time will be plugged in while camping or parked at a friends homes but we would like to venture to other places that will not have shore power. Such as race tracks (I have a car that I will be pulling on a trailer to different road courses and many of them have RV parking but no power hook ups) as well as the beach and very remote places. Most of our use will not be pulling a trailer with a car it will just be the bus.

I do not have a problem carrying a generator but I would like to cool the bus with some sort of A/C system that can be used only by solar. I appologize now because I know that statement is not correct and I understand that the A/C will be powered by some sort of battery bank that is charged by solar. I also don't need it to be a chilly 68 degrees 24 hours a day but more like a managable temperature since we are in TX and most of our travels will be in the summer months.

I've heard of soft start mini splits