Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-13-2017, 12:02 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1984
Coachwork: Bluebird
question(s) about using a wood stove to heat a bath-tub

Hello everybody!

I'm new to skoolie.net but have been working on my conversion for a couple years. I have a 1984 Bluebird 40' located in Portland, Oregon and I'm almost done with the conversion. Ok, onto my question:

So I am putting a bathroom into the rear of the bus and I cut out a space into the floor on the rear driver's side of the vehicle (in the storage area) for a recessed bathtub. A few feet fore (in front of) of the tub i have my wood stove sitting nicely on a stand above the wheel-well. With the tub recessed into the floor and the stove on it's perch the stove is probably about 3 feet above the tub.

I hope to use a copper pipe induction heating system so that the wood stove heats the water in the tub--sucking cold water out of the bottom of the tub and delivering heated water out of another pipe above.

I've seen videos of this but only where both the stove and the tub are level to each other. Will the heat from the coiled copper in the stove provide enough suction to start this process? (I imagine it might not as the heat density of water is so much greater than air..) Or will I need some type of reservoir or other system closer to stove? Or perhaps some clever bending of the pipe such that there is consistently a good amount of water in the pipe?

Oh, the total distance from the tub to the stove is probably around 4-5ft, but of course, a couple of that being vertical.

any help much appreciated!

thanks!
-Brandon
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_4808.jpg  

Brando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 01:04 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1997
Chassis: GMC
Engine: Cat 3116
Rated Cap: 72
Great topic Brandon! So many ways to use a woodstove if you build one into a skoolie.