Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-21-2015, 08:37 AM   #1
Bus Crazy

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Just the two of us.
split air conditioner

Many moons ago there was a post about a splitting a window unit air conditioner. Search doesn't seem to come up with it. Any one remember it or have any info about it? Has any one here done it? I'm not positive it was this forum but I think it was.

Thanks,
Dick

somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 08:58 AM   #2
Site Team

Year: 1988
Coachwork: ward
Chassis: international
Engine: dt360a
Rated Cap: 65
you havnt lost your mind, i remember reading it too. but dont remember who.
claydbal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 10:12 PM   #3
Bus Nut

I'm a newbie here so I don't know about that particular thread, but this is kind of a pain in the butt due to the difficulty of correctly discharging and then re-charging these things... unless you're in "screw the environment mode"...

However, I DO know personally of somebody that was able to duct off one of them and that's what I'm seriously considering. Take your same concept, but just chuck the whole A/C under the bus (in a well screened box to keep out dust/bugs) and run one or two 3" dryer hoses out of it. The static pressure these things produce is tiny so you usually need a small inline duct "boost" fan but those are cheap and easy to set up. I haven't set anything in stone for my project yet, but this is what I'm considering doing. It's not massively efficient, but it's cheap, easy, and does cut the noise way down...
taskswap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 12:47 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Year: 1986
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: 40 ft All American FE
Engine: 8.2LTA Fuel Pincher DD V8
Rated Cap: 89
Check out BNO. I know someone (more than one someone) did that with their coach.