Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-17-2017, 09:43 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International
Engine: dt466
Rated Cap: 71
Stock Heater Troubleshooting

Hey all,

We've only had our bus for just over two weeks so I'm still learning all there is to know about it. We are in the midst of demo at the moment but I realized recently that I simply cannot get the heaters to actually blow hot air.

We've got a 71 passenger Bluebird International. I removed the heater in the back and looped the hoses as can be seen in the photo below. I'm fairly certain that there is coolant moving through the system because after I completed the loop there was a steady leak out of one hose until I tightened a clamp. I bled the system of air after changing the lines.

There are three valves in the system; two under the hood and one under the steering wheel. As far as I can tell they are all open but this brings up the question, "If only one valve is closed will that completely shut off they coolant flow? If so... why are there three and not just one?"

As far as I can tell, my coolant moves in a big loop through the door heater/blower and the heater/blower by the driver's seat and then back.

Under the hood I can feel one hose that is warm when the bus has been running but once it get's inside the cab the hose goes cool. The blowers all work but are just pushing cool air.

So that's where I am at. I've tried just about every switch on the dash and every combination of open/close valve position I can but still no heat...

I'm wondering if there's just something obvious here that I am missing? Any input anyone might have would be appreciated otherwise I'll be back out working on it/troubleshooting tomorrow.

Thanks in advance!

Rengald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 09:54 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird