Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-25-2018, 06:52 PM   #1

100% Newbie

Hello all. Wanted to intro myself before I start bombarding everyone with a million and one questions over the course of the next year or so.

I am brand new to skoolies and absolutely enamored/overwhelmed/under-educated. BUT! Everyone has to start somewhere, i suppose.

I'm a nursing student, set to graduate in June, newly-ish and unexpectedly divorced with my last kidlet about to leave the nest this summer or so. So, seems a good plan to start over a bit with a new career, etc.. I am alllll about minimalism and abhor debt. I've moved around a lot over the years (itchy feet, I guess). The freedom associated with living 'tiny' has appealed for a long time and a skoolie seems a reasonable way to go.

I plan on living in it full time and traveling extensively on my 6 and 8 day stretches off for the first couple years of my nursing career, then possibly becoming a traveling nurse, taking my skoolie home with me wherever I land.

I am not in any way, shape or form mechanically inclined and I realize this is a problem. Helps that I'm no dummy and I figure I can learn as well as the next guy/gal. I know a few things that I definitely want and a few others I'm not sure about. It'll just be lil ol' me so I figure a approx 28' (that's typically the 8 window does, right? Gah! forgive my newbie ignorance) with about 22' interior room is plenty big for me. I just don't want to drive anything bigger than that either. Other must haves (I think and I very much plan on leaning heavily on those with superior wisdom in this arena, cough cough, you guys) are; a bathtub, off grid capabilities (solar hookups, etc), roof top deck, diesel engine, probs automatic transmission. Oh! And I saw somewhere where someone put a 12 bottle wine rack in the floor of a skoolie and HELLO, yes please.