Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2016, 01:27 PM   #21
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 27
I just double checked and got these
135,152 (twice) 223 (twice), 224, 615, 622 (twice)
bikemech77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2016, 01:49 PM   #22
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 6,296
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
gotta love icloud, forgot i had these.. several of those are showing that the software is corrupt on the computer.. i dont have a 136 so i used 135 as a reference..

135 - idle validation switch
142 - Vechicle speed sensor high
152 - BARO sensor low
223 - VPM no comms to ECM
224 - KAM corrupt.
615 - KAM corrupted parameter
622 - engine using default rating.

some of these are scary like the computer got surged hard... or is missing part of its power.. the KAM is the battery keep alive memory.. the loss of comms to the VPM means perhaps a circuit to pins 1,40 of the ECM are still no power..

ECM terminal 1 having no power could be the cause of many of these codes..

the ECM fuse handles this.. I dont have a fuse number.. but should be in the dashboard mounted fuse panel.. id check that first..


-Christopher
cadillackid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2016, 02:06 PM   #23
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
gotta love icloud, forgot i had these.. several of those are showing that the software is corrupt on the computer.. i dont have a 136 so i used 135 as a reference..

135 - idle validation switch
142 - Vechicle speed sensor high
152 - BARO sensor low
223 - VPM no comms to ECM
224 - KAM corrupt.
615 - KAM corrupted parameter
622 - engine using default rating.

some of these are scary like the computer got surged hard... or is missing part of its power.. the KAM is the battery keep alive memory.. the loss of comms to the VPM means perhaps a circuit to pins 1,40 of the ECM are still no power..

ECM terminal 1 having no power could be the cause of many of these codes..

the ECM fuse handles this.. I dont have a fuse number.. but should be in the dashboard mounted fuse panel.. id check that first..


-Christopher
Good so I've been going in the right direction. I've checked the fuses in the battery compartment since from what I've read goes to ecm. Check good. Dash fuse good. One thing I noticed is someone used 30 A fuses for B/U, ABS and starter. Looked behind panel and that's where I found that fried wire. So I'm guessing since someone used the wrong fuse to allow more current and not blow so quick, that it possibly burnt up the ecm. I've since replaced the wire , made sure of no short to ground or crosses, placed the correct 10A fuse, and correct fuses in the other locations and had no blowouts since. Just the check engine light, tach is not working (assuming cause of ecm) and the fact the codes will not clear at all.
bikemech77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2016, 03:08 PM   #24
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikemech77 View Post
Good so I've been going in the right direction. I've checked the fuses in the battery compartment since from what I've read goes to ecm. Check good. Dash fuse good. One thing I noticed is someone used 30 A fuses for B/U, ABS and starter. Looked behind panel and that's where I found that fried wire. So I'm guessing since someone used the wrong fuse to allow more current and not blow so quick, that it possibly burnt up the ecm. I've since replaced the wire , made sure of no short to ground or crosses, placed the correct 10A fuse, and correct fuses in the other locations and had no blowouts since. Just the check engine light, tach is not working (assuming cause of ecm) and the fact the codes will not clear at all.

I understand if they are historic but if I'm doing the procedure correctly they should be cleared and some should not come back on until the engine has been started .
Like the idle , vehicle speed and the barametric pressure.
bikemech77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2016, 04:57 PM   #25
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 27
I'll send a pic from my laptop when I get home the part the the burnt wire went to is on the left side of the transmission. It is hexagon shaped and has 2 wires coming off of it. It's not the one that has a rubber hose coming off of it. It is forward of that.
bikemech77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2016, 06:21 PM   #26
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 6,296
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
pin 1 on the ECM connector should be +12 all the time even when key off. I dont know that this keeps the engine from starting or not.. someone putting a 30 amp fuse in is either they kept blowing them so they stuck a bigger one in.. or they kept blowing them and just emptied a package of whetver they had.. and you ended up with a full-on short. I need to look at the no-start diagnostics to see what codes if any are checkled for no-start.

so pin 1 to ground on the ECM harness 60 pin connector (big one)should have +12 voltage all the time.

pin 40 should be a solid circuit to ground. (as close to 0 ohms as you can get)

pin 1 to pin 40 shouild be +12
pin 8 to ground should be +12 voltage with key on... (that SHOULD be good or you wouldnt get flash codes..

pin 8 to 15 shoiuld be +12 with key on...

these are measuring with the harness unplugged from the ECM and you are measuring on the harness itself not on the ECM...

you can also look for burnt pins going into the ECM when you unplug it...

-Christopher
cadillackid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2016, 07:54 PM   #27
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
pin 1 on the ECM connector should be +12 all the time even when key off. I dont know that this keeps the engine from starting or not.. someone putting a 30 amp fuse in is either they kept blowing them so they stuck a bigger one in.. or they kept blowing them and just emptied a package of whetver they had.. and you ended up with a full-on short. I need to look at the no-start diagnostics to see what codes if any are checkled for no-start.

so pin 1 to ground on the ECM harness 60 pin connector (big one)should have +12 voltage all the time.

pin 40 should be a solid circuit to ground. (as close to 0 ohms as you can get)

pin 1 to pin 40 shouild be +12
pin 8 to ground should be +12 voltage with key on... (that SHOULD be good or you wouldnt get flash codes..

pin 8 to 15 shoiuld be +12 with key on...

these are measuring with the harness unplugged from the ECM and you are measuring on the harness itself not on the ECM...

you can also look for burnt pins going into the ECM when you unplug it...

-Christopher
Yes I did find 2 top pins ( higher than others) had black plastic. 1 pin was I guess top of row 1 second pin was top of middle row.
bikemech77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2016, 08:06 PM   #28
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 6,296
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
I was gonna try and post the page from the service manual relevant to this that shows a diagram of the connector.. but cant figure out how to turn a PDF to pics on OSX without special software...
-Christopher
cadillackid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2016, 08:08 PM   #29
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 27
Ha ha don't ask me bub. I can barley post a pic from my phone
bikemech77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2016, 08:13 PM   #30
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 27
I'll figure it out now that I know the specs. I'm hoping it's not the ecu but then again it wouldn't not Ben the first time one had me all over the place. Lol
bikemech77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1997 minibus, wireing problem

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.