Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-26-2018, 12:05 AM   #1

2 x schoolie conversions, newbie in Texas

Howdy folks! Wow lots of traffic and great, great stuff on this forum. Please realize I did spent some time searching, and I did not find a thread common to my situation. Hopefully this really is a unique thread worth posting. If what I am looking for is already covered in an existing section, please point me the way!

I am a newbie to the skoolie thing, with what seems to be kind of a unique plan amongst you skoolie folks: I am looking to convert multiple skoolies to semi-permanent cabins for use here on the family ranch.

Some of you might ask, why not use used RV's or small cabins? Well, our part of Texas is overrun by 'dirty Steve's', our affectionate name for pack rats, raccoons, skunks, mice, possums, and other critters who thrive on moving into and gradually destroying infrequently-occupied wood-framed structures with tons of internal hiding places. We have multiple rotting trailers, old houses/cabins, and a couple of mobile homes folks have drug out here over the years: they are all falling apart.

One structure seems to hold up well while the others fail: an old 1957 shortie school bus parked out by the creek is still in great shape!

So I have found two 'new-to-me' buses to start with: a 1996 Carpenter and a 1996 Bluebird. At first I figured I would pull the engines and tranny's and sell for salvage, and just tow the buses into place after conversion. I now like the idea of the buses being able to move around a little, maybe even keep one road-legal for an occasional trip.

Both are dog-noses: I have started on the Carpenter. I pulled the seats, stripped the rubber floor, and just got done painting the floor for rust protection. The conversion is about to begin!