Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-25-2016, 10:51 AM   #1

A boondocker is born!

Hello friends!

I hope this finds you all well. I have been bitten by the skoolie bug and am looking to create a boondockable full-time skoolie home for just my single self. I have been an artist and musician for years, living on the road and a shoestring budget, and I am really excited to get started.

My top priorities are figuring out rainwater catchment (I have a filter that can get anything out!), complete solar power, and using as many reclaimed materials as possible to build my home. The rest will come. I am also interested in biodiesel conversion, but for budgeting reasons that may be down the road.

I have been all over the web reading about solar systems, different types of buses, layouts, etc - there is so much to learn! I am recruiting friends and helpers to trade and pay for labor and parts.

From what I've gleaned, a diesel engine, dt360 or cummins 5.9 w/ allison 643 may be my best bet for longevity and mileage. I'm looking for a manual transmission and would love a 2 speed rear end if I can find it. I've heard that a rear engine drives better and leaves more room for storage underneath. If I can find an activity bus with storage under, hooray! It's possible that the criteria I've just spouted off may not all exist in one bus, and if that's the case, I'd be grateful to anyone who points it out! This is new enough that it's all greek to me, I am doing my best to learn the language.

Any input on air vs hydraulic brakes?