Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-24-2019, 12:18 AM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: MVP ER
Engine: CAT 3126
Beginning on the Conversion Journey

Hello! A couple of my friends and I have decided to embark on the challenge of making a school bus into an RV. I'm a young bus mechanic and this makes me the most experienced member of our group and essentially project leader. We are based in Northern Virginia.

So far I've ruled the bus must have air conditioning with a preference towards OEM systems, largely due to having connections for parts and not having to do a whole lot of modification. We've decided we will not do heavy modification work to the structure of the bus. We may blank out some of the windows, but raising the roof is out of the question. We also intend to keep things fairly basic. At the moment plans are for basic amenities for 4 people. We're not trying to make something that feels like a high dollar RV, though we will make it look fair not sloppy and well secured.

As for the bus itself I found a salvage yard called M&M Salvage about 100 miles away that is offering 130+ buses for sale. I visited yesterday and was rather impressed. I was free to look at any bus as I pleased and most of them fired right up. Those that didn't, I merely had to ask for a jump. I ended up having about 8 jumped at once. Staff was polite and even offered dealer tags for road testing. They tell me they sell up to 5 buses a week, but it's a bit on the rare side.