Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-28-2017, 02:15 PM   #1

Year: 2007
Coachwork: Mid-Bus
Engine: 6.6L Duramax Diesel
Post Brand New: Excited to begin but I'm overwhelmed

Hi, I'm Andrew and I live in downtown Chicago. I'm brand new to this whole school bus conversion thing but I'm really glad that this forum exists. I am hoping to get some guidance on what the best order to do things is. I'll give you an idea of what I'm looking to do and maybe you all can help to steer me in the right direction. I appreciate any assistance you can provide.

My bus is a 2007 Chevy 6.6L Duramax Diesel Mid-Bus. It is a 22 foot 5-window model.

My plan is to essentially be entirely off-grid as I'll be doing a lot of asphalt surfing out here in Chicagoland.

Here are my plans thus far:
1) I want to put a queen platform bed in the rear and have this on a 2ft platform with under-bed rear garage storage.
2) Moving from back to front on the driver side, I plan to have butcher block counters run the entire length.
a) Concealed in the rear aspect of the butcher block countertop, I plan to have a converted sheep stock tank that is 48" long, 24" deep, and about 12" tall. The plan is for the butcher block countertop to be removable in that section and repurposed as a table top when necessary.