Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-19-2017, 10:07 AM   #1

Came down with a case of the skoolie craze...

Hi all.

I'm currently in my last year as a Power Systems Engineering undergrad student. While I ultimately love the beauty of the mountains here in my home state, I yearn to travel; to see new places, do new things, and make memories I'll always treasure. What easier way to make this happen than to put my schooling know-how, my other hobbies, and a do-it-to-it attitude and build out a skoolie conversion! I'm still six months from graduation and probably a year from finding a bus thats right for me, but I wanted to get planning early and have all the cards on the table before embarking on this never ending journey.

The skoolie will have to meet a few basic purposes. First and foremost, if has to cart me and my 70lb Collie/Lab mix (energetic couch potato) pooch around North America. I love to take my motorcycle for sight seeing adventures, particularly up and down windy mountain roads. So, that being said, the skoolie ultimately has to get my bike around somehow as well. Where I'm really stuck, as of right now, is figuring out the best type of bus to go with to accomplish this.

I've liked the idea of a RE pusher for their overall quietness and usable space ratio. However, using an RE pusher would mean towing an additional trailer or finding a hitch-mount motorcycle rack/lift that would get the job done. I could get a combo trailer that could handle the bike and the SUV if needed. Con to this is putting the bike outside in the weather, catching the road gunk flying off the bus wheels, unless I used an enclosed trailer ($$$ yikes!)