Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-05-2016, 09:42 PM   #1

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Ford
Chassis: Ford
Engine: 350
Dreams do come true..Who needs a bus?

ok so I am new to posting and I am new to owning a bus...much to the shock of my family...actually the dream of owning bus is my husband Bryan's..he lived on a bus in downtown Toronto for a couple of years on and off...and since we have been married ...when times are tough or stressful.... I get to hear "that's it I'm buying a bus, we are out of here".l We have a 2000 Ford Diesel Shorty..I do have a few questions Insurance? Does anyone in Ontario know how I can get it insured. It seems a bit more difficult then I thought it would be. Insulation? Why are people taking off the panels and ceiling and insulating (it is already insulated)...as far as I know we will only be using the bus from April to November,so do I need more insulation? I have heard some camp site don't let buses in... is that true?
Lastly ..if anyone is looking for a bus I have an in with the school bus company here in durham region and I can arrange for a bus if someone wants one.

thanks

Mikki and Bryan (still shinny and new)

mirjana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 10:29 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
Congratulations on your shorty. That's sure to make a lot of memories. Yes, insurance has been becoming more difficult in the past few years. The way we have been accomplishing getting insurance is going to an independent insurance agent locally. Nearly every time they come up with a "commercial policy for private use" at Progressive, because it's a truck size vehicle. Lots of people with previous policies with other companies are being dropped. Search as long as you like, then look up your local independent insurance agent.