Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-17-2016, 04:09 PM   #1

Durham, NC checking in with a lot of questions...

Hi all,

So my bf and I have decided that we'd really like to convert a bus into a tiny home for us and our pets to live in until we find the place we want to build/live in a house (and then keep the bus for travel). However, I'm a law student and he's an anthropology student, so neither of us are the most mechanically inclined, which brings me to my questions:

1) Gas or diesel? We live in NC currently, but we're looking to move either west (Colorado, Oregon, Utah, etc.) or North (Vermont, Maine, etc.) after we finish our degrees. Since diesel doesn't do as well in cold, should we stick with gas? from my reading it seems diesel may still be better...

2) Is there a good step by step list of what to do posted somewhere? I looked through the tutorials but I didn't see any. It seems that most people tend to tear up the floors, as well as take out the roof and wall panels to replace the insulation. Is this necessary? What type of insulation is it being replaced with that the old insulation wasn't sufficient?

3) What starting steps do you recommend? For the most part, we'd really like to do the work ourselves. The main thing I see us needing to get outside help would be for plumbing and electricity, as we will need to have water and power since we're living there full time.

4) are there advantages to the bus styles. We tend to prefer the conventional style bus, but if the flat faced ones serve some purpose we're missing, then function is more important for the structure.

5) just any general advice or things I may have missed. I look forward to becoming more involved in this community!

FieryFreyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2016, 04:23 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Chassis: GMC or Chevrolet, I hope
Engine: gasser probably