Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-22-2018, 12:01 AM   #1

Finally Did It!!!

Good Evening!

My wife and I finally pulled the trigger and bought a bus. We have 2 small boys with a third on the way. My wife is a stay at home mother and I work in education. The current plan is to use it throughout the year on regular camping trips and then spend either June or July each summer traveling to different National Parks.

Picked up a 2000 International with an Amstar cab, it has a DT466e and Allison 643 with lockout converter along with air brakes. Guy was asking 4k but talked him down to $2,700 due to the fact that he listed the bus as having 6'6" ceilings and 38 feet long where as it has 6'2" ceiling and is only 35 feet long. He did previously remove all the seats and subfloor/rubber so that saves me quite a bit of time.

I picked it up down near San Antonio and drove it back to Fort Worth (6.5hrs) and it did great other than being governed. A little surface rust on the floor, none on the chassis, good tires

We are taking it to a diesel mechanic on Monday to give it a once over as I am not much of a mechanic. Want to make sure it mechanically sound before putting too much work on the interior.

Its always hard to pull the trigger on something because depending on which post you read every power-train combo is either the best or the worst one ever made depending on who is typing. but at $2700 I felt like rolling the dice.

Couple questions/causes for concern:

Odometer only says 39k miles... clearly cannot be right
Top speed was only 55mph... Should be able to reprogram the ECM right?

Any comments, tips would be great!
Click image for larger version

Name:	065D5C96-D41B-47AF-837E-C7A237659874.jpeg
Views:	19
Size:	427.2 KB
ID:	21030

Williami22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 05:30 AM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International