Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-16-2018, 03:29 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

First time caller....

Hey all; 50 year old (today in fact) with wife, 4 kids (one going to college next year, 3 others 6 and under) considering jumping onto the bandwagon - or bus really - and making a go of it, but I've got a few questions being a complete newb.

I was considering this for a little while - my wife is from the UK, coming over here to meet and marry me; we've been thinking about moving back to Wales for her family and our boys but thought we should travel the US first for a year or so. Though I'm 50 (sheesh man I still feel 20 in my head) I've not had many adventures, having lived in NJ the first 40 years and now CT -- so thought I'd take the plunge, but had some trepidation about all sharing that small space. I'm a computer programmer and was trying to think how I could work while on the road, as well as starting our own first conversion.

Watching the GoodNewsBus and Treb Adventures I realized that a) it's possible with a larger family to live in a small space and b) seeing the welding / raising the roof episode on GoodNewsBus I thought 'yeah I can totally do that myself'.

The thing that most worries me is working while on the road, and I thought why not making an office trailer that we pull? Thinking it would be a small office-type that could also have a secondary toilet and bed just in case (in case my mother in law or college kid wants to come on the road, as well as offers a second toilet for the kids just in case).

So:
- It it realistic hauling an office space?
- Curious about any threads about high speed internet (though nowadays doubt that's too much of an issue in most places).