Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-04-2016, 12:47 AM   #1
Bus Nut

Greetings from Massachusetts

Hi everyone!

I'm Mark, from Masachusetts, and I live in the greater Boston area.

I've seen a lot of neat skoolie conversions over the past few years (before the "tiny house" thing became trendy.)

I don't have a bus yet, since I don't really have a place to put it yet, but I wouldn't exactly hesitate to look for one in the next year or two because housing is getting so expensive. I have some ideas for my eventual build.

I like the idea of skoolies for a few reasons:

- I think they can be better "mobile" residences then some of the traditional RVs out there. I like the idea that to a point, if I can build it, I can fix it. I'm not an expert, but I'm handy with construction projects.

-Skoolies won't pancake if they get into an accident, and I think that if you get the right one, you'll end up with a better engine, transmission, and frame then a commercially built motorhome. I'd really like to travel with this rig, so the safety is important to me.

-I can customize the space to my needs. A lot of RVs look fairly comfortable, but don't use their space terribly efficiently.

-I'm not going to be doing any serious off-roading, but there's decent ground clearance under a skoolie - not like some of the RVs that have side skirting down almost to the ground on each side.

Mark_In_MA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2016, 01:15 AM   #2
Bus Nut

I have one or two particular ideas that I think might be new on the design of my skoolie, in particular the bathroom.

I'd like to keep the "hallway" down the middle of the bus to get from the front-back.