Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-01-2019, 04:23 PM   #1

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Rated Cap: 90 passengers
Hello

Hi everybody! Just going to jump in and do a skoolie. So I will be seeking out alot of help!😀 I have been following a few folks on YouTube. I am looking at a 2011 IC Flat nose with Dura Maxx motor. I cannot remember much about those motors. I am an over the road driver and had a truck with that motor but drawing a blank. Any input on it?

Thanks

Derek
EarthSun Trucker

EarthSun Trucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 04:52 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
We would normally recommend you run away from any bus newer than an 04. EPA issues are costly and hard to diagnose. And apparantly inevitable if proper preventive maintenance isn't strictly adhered to.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 05:01 PM   #3

I'm hearing that! Thanks
Old 10-01-2019, 05:15 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: Cummins 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
2011 would be the second gen of emissions diesels, so it should be better than the first gen... still not as good as the pre-2004 engines... Most of us don't have access to fleet mechanics and so we lean heavily towards buses we can maintain ourselves!
Old 10-01-2019, 05:19 PM   #5

��there's alot of truth in that statement. I just drive em lol
Old 10-01-2019, 05:24 PM   #6
Bus Geek

Year: 86
Chassis: Ford B700
Engine: 8.2
Rated Cap: 60 bodies
the duramax has come along way since the early 2000s