Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-26-2018, 04:03 PM   #1
Almost There

Year: 1994
Coachwork: International
Chassis: Thomas Vista
Engine: DT 408 6.7L
Rated Cap: 72
Hello All! Currently Converting 1994 Int. Vista DT408

Hey! My names Scott, Long time lurker here as we went about the process of finding a purchasing our bus. So much info here! Excited to start being more vocal on here as I search for answers and start to have some knowledge to share!

A little about me, I'm fresh to diesel and heavy trucks, I am a self-taught home mechanic used to working on Nissan Pathfinders and with Youtube and some dedication I get it done. Doing lots of research thanks to all you guys and gals out there figuring stuff out on your own. I'm doing this build for a full time live in for me and my partner Giulia as we travel North America.

We're up in B.C and spent a long time looking for a bus that was local and checked off all the essentials for us, a lot of duds!

Finally, we got our bus, I'll throw some pictures up soon! It's a strange body, a mix between a dog nose and flat... but personally, I love it! it comes in at 34 Ft long and gives us right around 210 Sqft of living space inside. So easy to drive with the wheels right under the driver's seat almost.

1994 International Thomas Vista
DT408 6.7 L (Still Need to Identify which Injection Pump we have for HP (LAZY/BUSY LOL)
AT 500 series, have yet to find the ID plate so its either the AT542 or 545

454,000 Km
was Gov certifies and in local use up to end of 2017

we picked it up for $1600 all in at auction

Got in the end of Aug 2018, and so far we have,

Engine maintenance, Lube, Oil Filters, Coolant flush, and Fresh Thermostat so far.
Going to replace fluid/filters for tranni rear diff etc before we start driving it regularly.