Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-01-2018, 06:49 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Hello Everyone

Hello everyone, been lurking here for a few days so I thought I would sign up and become a member of the community.

Currently I don't have a rig of any sort, but i'm an aspiring bus owner who's looking to ditch my apartment in the next 6-12 months and start a crazy journey.

I'm 33 years old, married to my wife, dog, and 3 cats and work at a small software company in Central Ohio as primarily a Network Engineer, but also do Linux/Windows administration. I've also got electrical background, welding and mechanic experience, and also some diesel experience. (ford 7.3 and 6.0 turbo, injectors, etc and also gas stuff)

I've been grinding away for the past 10 years and now that i'm in my early 30's I feel like i've waken up from a bad dream, and i'm ready to hit the road. I've known about van life and rving and also bus conversion for quite some time, but just recently found this site dedicated specifially to skoolies and hope to learn a ton and also maybe share some info with others as I learn and figure out what I want my rig to be.

kcarsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 07:09 PM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

I just thought i'd post some more info and thank everyone in advance for replying

I've started out over a year ago looking at vans, (sprinter type) and decided pretty quick that would be too small, and also the fact that i'm a bit afraid of any newer engine combinations due to all the emissions (def, dpf, etc) related to diesels, and super high repair cost, and special tools to work on them.

I decided to start looking at busses, and went from short busses which are basically just van chassis, then to medium busses.