Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-16-2016, 09:09 PM   #1

Hello from LA!

Hi Everyone!

My name is AJ Young and I'm excited to join this community (online and offline) of school bus conversion.

My fiance and I are busy studying away on wiring, engine mechanics, and plumbing, but have no idea where to start looking for a bus to purchase.

I've browsed through the forums, but can't find any reliable resources. Do you have any recommendations for buying a used school bus?

AJ Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 09:27 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: Cummins 5.9
Rated Cap: 44 or 66? 11 rows
Happy to have you here! Listen to the other guys for advice: I'm a noob. But I would take a six-pack of Pepsi to your local school district bus barn foreman and see if he has any thoughts. I did that with my local guy and was astonished at how good the buses out of his barn look. They sell through PublicSurplus.com (the other big one is Govdeals.com). Usually Craigslist posts are from folks who think their bus is worth more than it really is, but you might luck out. Do your research here and decide how big and what type of bus and which drivetrain elements you want... and start saving your dough. Likely costs seem to run from $2000 - $4000 though folks have been able to purchase for less (and some paying more have been quite happy, too, with the value received). Wishing you the best...
Dapplecreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 09:29 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Welcome, AJ.